Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I really wanted to like this one but...I did not so much. Boyfriend didn't like it either. The steak was okay, not great, and the vegetables were way too soft and practically falling apart. It definitely was not worth the hour and a half it took to cook it. I think it would have been a much better plan to simply omit the flour and cook the steak on the stove, adding the onion, pepper, and garlic and just left it at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is a good recipe for what it is; using flavorful veggies and gravy to hide a cheap cut of meat. I seasoned the meat and flour with seasoned salt, pepper, and garlic. I sauteed the veggies first, and I used a red bell pepper instead of the green since we don't care for green bell peppers. I also added fresh portabello mushrooms, and added a can of beef broth (mixed with veggies, the broth made a tasty gravy). Served this with mashed potatoes, broccoli and cheese sauce, and French bread. Made a yummy, easy, tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Made changes like others suggested: sauteed onions, garlic and peppers first and de-glazed the pan (after browning the meat) with beef stock. Other than that, followed the recipe and still there was something missing. Served with rice and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
YES;) Oh this is good. I didnt use veg oil, I used virgin oil instead. Added mushrooms and some beef booblons as well. I just had my first bite, and it was soooo moist;) This is good. For a single guy trying to impress, this will be made again...with a female in mind;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katacus

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I did not like this recipe. The cube steak had no flavor. I needed to add way more salt then I wanted to for it to taste like anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This is good, easy, and cheap. I make it fairly often.I always kind of do my own thing with seasonings, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Very tender but needs something to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My fiance loved this recipe when I made it a month ago and asked that I make it again tonight. I'm terrible at making or thickening gravy so the only change I made was to take the meat out when it was done and simmer it in beef gravy that I bought at the grocery store :) Very juicy and tender. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Smeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
It was ok - it's like sailsbury steak. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
WONDERFUL!!! Just added beef base and thickened up the sauce at the end. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hope, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States