Poor Man's Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I think this pie would be better with a light corn syrup. Mine needed about an hour to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is a excellent pie. I love to bake and this is so easy and good. The price of Pecans are through the roof these days and if you are looking for a tasty cheaper pecan pie than this is it!!!! It looks to nice too. I used Light Corn Syrup(that is all I had) instead and it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This didn't turn out at all. Perhaps the cooking time or oven temperature is wrong on this recipe, or there wasn't enough oats, or perhaps it needed another egg. At any rate, the pie was pure liquid inside after 45 minutes in the oven and overnight in the fridge. The recipe author needs to include how to tell if it is done. I'm currently trying to rescue the ingredients by destroying the pie and cooking it in a jelly roll pan. We'll see how that goes. Also, the portions that did cook tasted nothing like pecan pie. It tasted good, but it wouldn't fool anybody, not even a poor man. Update: the jelly roll pan trick worked, and it tasted nice (although nothing like pecan pie), but as written, my one star rating stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is the best pie ever. I love the pecan pie but do not like the pecans and this makes a wonderfully rich pie. This recipe is also good to make for family gathering as a substitute for pecan pie for those that may be allergic to nuts. This pie always turns out good. You can substitute light Karo syrup for dark Karo syrup, it works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alcolu, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This turned out great for an alternative to traditional pecan pie. I followed the recipe exactly, however, I did cook it approximately 60 minutes. I also used the quick oats (that's all I had). It was still a little runny in the middle. I will definitely try this recipe again and probably add a little flour and use the old fashioned oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I've also had a version made with Grape Nuts cereal (not flakes) but I don't know if it's sold anymore! It was quite tasty, too. But here in southern New Mexico (second only to Georgia for growing pecans) I'd better use the real thing! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was really good! I thought it was a great idea to use rolled oats instead of pecans because pecans are so expensive. The top tasted a lot like granola. I thought the middle part did taste just like pecan pie and the oats on top are really good. Only change I made was I used light corn syrup like other reviewers suggested and I used half granulated sugar and half brown sugar (which I always do for my pecan pie). I made it in a smaller pie pan (so I halved everything) and I cooked it 40 minutes and it was done. I think if you made the recipe in a full pie pan it definitely would need more time than that since it would be thicker, and you'd have more filling. I found that if when you are baking it and the filling moves a whole lot because it is very liquidy in the middle, then it is not done. It usually is done when it moves just a little when you shake it (like jello). I did not think that this should have received a lower rating because someone cooked it incorrectly. All ovens cook differently, so you have to figure out on your own when it looks done. Thanks so much for the recipe. I will make it again! (I was testing it out for a fall festival and am going to make another one in a couple days.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This pie was good, but really it was too sweet even with 34c syrup. other than that it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This pie was a hit at Thanksgiving this year. My sister in law and I don't like pecans so I made this as an alternative! Even the Pecan Pie junkies were eating on our pie along with their own! It was VERY easy to make, but I did have to leave it in a little longer. Also, I did use the light like others. I would recommend this pie and do plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I had never heard of an oatmeal pie before & i really enjoyed it! I only had light corn syrup and the recipe still turned out great. I made it with a press-in pie crust, labeled Easy Pie Crust recipe. Easy & fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States