Poor Man's Hamburger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is very good I also kind of do this with pork chops and it's a hit with my family have it quite often...but what I do is brown the meat In a large skillet with the seasonings and then make a homemade gravy in the skillet by using flour with the drippings to brown then add in soup n also a brown or mushroom gravy packet then put it all in a dish and let it bake in the oven till super tender and the gravy browns more and it's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Husband, tween, toddler and mom approved! I don't usually rate recipes that I didn't make exactly according to the recipe, but I think this recipe would be excellent no matter how you make the patties! I just used some Lipton Onion soup mix I had on hand (I've made a jar of it homemade) instead of the written ingredients because I didn't have them. I did bake the patties before adding the soup to remove some grease, though I used ground round and there wasn't much. It could have been mixed in with the soup. Since I only was cooking for 2 adults and 2 kids I cut the recipe way back and only used one can of soup. Two would have been better. To compensate for less gravy, I took the patties out and added a little milk to the remaining soup to thin it out and extend the gravy. Not that often that my entire family ohhhh's and ahhhhh's over dinner. This simple recipe was a hit and will be in our regular rotation now! Thanks RHONDA35!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
My family of meat eaters did not enjoy. They stated it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I scaled it down a bit. I used 2 lbs. of 90/10 ground beef, 17 saltines, 1/3 cup of milk, 1 XL egg, 2 cans of soup, 1 teaspoon of Montreal seasoning in the meat and another in the soup. I omitted the salt and pepper due to the saltines, soup, and Montreal seasoning containing large amount of salt. The garlic powder & Italian seasoning stayed the same amount. I left out the mushrooms. I seared the patties both sides first and put them side. I didn't have any fat in the pan so I took the soup and seasoning and heated to a boil, scraping up the hamburger bits. Poured the soup on the patties then covered dish with foil and baked in a preheated oven at 425 for about 20-25 minutes. This was really delicious. My family raved about it. Next time, I'm going to use low sodium soup and crackers since it was still a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Super easy and you can make substitutions. We have a large family with kids of all ages and they were ALL wanting more (age 3 to 15). Weird how such an inexpensive dish can pack so much flavor. Def a do-again dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this with fresh mushrooms rather than canned and added onions. I used the golden mushroom soup instead of the cream of mushroom.This was a good dish. I served it with baked potatoes and steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I grew up with a recipe similar to this. My Mom just crumbled and cooked the hamberger, then mixed it into the soup mixture. We called it Hamburger Gravy over Mashed Potatoes. You can use as little or as much hamburger as you want. Simple, cheap and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Simple and good. Good low-carb if you use one egg in place of milk. ( also did not serve with noodles or rice.) Used French onion soup mix for burger seasoning. Followed advice from others and browned burger in 425 degree oven for 10 minuted per side to start. Sautéed onion and garlic in butter to start,, then added gravy sauce ingredients. Need to cook dish at 350 for only 30 minutes. Author prefers burger to be well done. Not necessary. Will make again as a easy comfort food dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is a 5-star recipe AS LONG AS YOU PRE-COOK the hamburgers, then DRAIN AND WIPE the pan clean of grease .... THEN oven bake them. The taste & flavor of these ingredients is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
After reading many many helpful feedback entries I too cooked the patties for 10mins each side in a 425 oven, drained off the grease and then returned to dish. I sautéed onion, garlic and added a knorr beef stock cup to pan. After the stock melted I added the cans of cream of mushroom and allowed to simmer until the meat was done on the 20 mins of first step. After draining and wiping out dish I spooned gravy mixture on bottom replaced patties and covered with rest of gravy. Covered with foil and cooked for an hour more at 350. I also was heavy handed with the garlic powder and added onion powder. Simple and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States