Poor Man's Hamburger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These were delicious! I used a combo of ground beef and turkey and seasoned with Nature's Season Salt. I added a few extra crackers and baked the patties without the soup topping for 10-15 mins which helped get out some of the grease. Drained and then topped with sauteed onions and garlic and soup. Baked 45 mins, flipped and then baked 15 mins more. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Looking for something different and easy? This is it. Some people said it was a bit greasy, maybe you should try a leaner meat. My beef is home grown and lean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
We love these! An easy and inexpensive meal that is good with mashed potatoes or egg noodles. I did add some garlic, and Worcestershire sauce and used fresh mushrooms. I also used panco because I did not have an crackers. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenjem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
It turned out GREAT!! I will definitely do this again. I didn't use the cherry but added red onion. Way to go chef, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is very good I also kind of do this with pork chops and it's a hit with my family have it quite often...but what I do is brown the meat In a large skillet with the seasonings and then make a homemade gravy in the skillet by using flour with the drippings to brown then add in soup n also a brown or mushroom gravy packet then put it all in a dish and let it bake in the oven till super tender and the gravy browns more and it's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Husband, tween, toddler and mom approved! I don't usually rate recipes that I didn't make exactly according to the recipe, but I think this recipe would be excellent no matter how you make the patties! I just used some Lipton Onion soup mix I had on hand (I've made a jar of it homemade) instead of the written ingredients because I didn't have them. I did bake the patties before adding the soup to remove some grease, though I used ground round and there wasn't much. It could have been mixed in with the soup. Since I only was cooking for 2 adults and 2 kids I cut the recipe way back and only used one can of soup. Two would have been better. To compensate for less gravy, I took the patties out and added a little milk to the remaining soup to thin it out and extend the gravy. Not that often that my entire family ohhhh's and ahhhhh's over dinner. This simple recipe was a hit and will be in our regular rotation now! Thanks RHONDA35!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
My family of meat eaters did not enjoy. They stated it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I scaled it down a bit. I used 2 lbs. of 90/10 ground beef, 17 saltines, 1/3 cup of milk, 1 XL egg, 2 cans of soup, 1 teaspoon of Montreal seasoning in the meat and another in the soup. I omitted the salt and pepper due to the saltines, soup, and Montreal seasoning containing large amount of salt. The garlic powder & Italian seasoning stayed the same amount. I left out the mushrooms. I seared the patties both sides first and put them side. I didn't have any fat in the pan so I took the soup and seasoning and heated to a boil, scraping up the hamburger bits. Poured the soup on the patties then covered dish with foil and baked in a preheated oven at 425 for about 20-25 minutes. This was really delicious. My family raved about it. Next time, I'm going to use low sodium soup and crackers since it was still a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Super easy and you can make substitutions. We have a large family with kids of all ages and they were ALL wanting more (age 3 to 15). Weird how such an inexpensive dish can pack so much flavor. Def a do-again dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this with fresh mushrooms rather than canned and added onions. I used the golden mushroom soup instead of the cream of mushroom.This was a good dish. I served it with baked potatoes and steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States