Poor Man's Hamburger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I thought this was wonderful, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This dish was very good, and easy to make. I followed what member LexiandJack suggested and my family loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALASCATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
My family loved this, will make again. I did increase the soup to two cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
We loved this recipe. I added a bit of onion powder and served over egg noodles. Quick, easy, cheap, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I wasn't expecting much, but decided to try this because I needed something quick and had everything on hand. This was surprisingly good, and to top it off, it was very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious!! Try this with ground turkey instead of beef and roasted garlic mashed potatoes. My family asked if we could have this again next week! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was really good! I made exactly as written but added a few drops of worchester sauce. Only reason I rated as a 4 and not 5 was because they were a little on the greasy side after cooking. But...nothing a paper towel couldn't help!! Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Cheap and easy, a great weeknight meal! I only used 1 lb. ground beef, 1/2 cup cracker crumbs and 1/4 tsp. of spices. This was a touch bland so next time I will add Worcestershire and minced onion to the patties. Overall though, we were quite happy with this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Thought these were just ok, will keep looking for something that we like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
After reading all of the reviews and following some of the other reviewers' tips, we ended up eating a delicious meal using this recipe. I made the burger patties exactly as written, but after forming them I put them in a 425 degree oven for 10 minutes on each side to bake off a good deal of the grease. While they were baking I sauteed two large, sliced onions with a teaspoon of minced garlic in two tablespoons of butter until the onions were soft. To the onions I added the three cans of Cream of Mushroom soup (used fat-free), two soup cans of water, two beef boullion cubes, and enough Kitchen Bouquet (probably about 1/2 to 1 teaspoon)to darken the gravy/sauce mixture; I let this simmer over low heat until all of the meat patties were browned. Then I drained the grease from the browning pan, wiped the pan clean, put the meat patties back into the pan on top of a bit of the gravy/sauce, and poured the rest on top of the meat. Reset the oven to 350, covered the pan with foil, and baked for one hour more. This was delicious; lots of flavor and the patties were very moist. We put the gravy/sauce on top of mashed potatoes, and also had fresh, lightly steamed broccoli on the side. Thank you for this recipe...my husband and son went crazy over this (husband ate three meat patties, son ate two)! I used the entire three pounds of ground beef and ended up with a total of 12 patties. So glad I don't have to cook tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States