Poor Man's Hamburger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I love these. Only one thing I did differently was to brown these in a pan beforehand...cuts out a lot of grease from the gravy and makes them even more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
this was good, but it took longer for mine to cook. probably because i made very large patties. i followed the recipe to a "T" except i used fresh mushrooms on topinstead of canned. mostly because that is all i had but also thought fresh mushrooms are best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stewart, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My family really enjoyed these patties. Followed the exact recipe, and was very pleased. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Good flavor and easy. I preferred warming the cream of mushroom on the stove top and adding it on top after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
My family really likes this recipe. I tweeked it a little bit. I substitute 1 egg for the milk. I only used 2/3 the crackers and add some Mrs Dash original seasoning. Most of my family do not like mushrooms so I used just basic jar brown gravy and topped it with yellow onions. I cooked it covered at 350 and then uncovered it for the last 10 minutes and turned up the heat to 425. It really browns the top good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
So simple and my family loved this comfort food. The soup made it's own gravy and there was plenty of it. I served this with mashed potatoes and gravy on the side. As my husband said you just can't go wrong with meat and potatoes. I like a lot more spicy savory food, and am not a fan of mushroom anything so I personally thought they were rather bland. Thanks Rhonda this was great for such an easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Good easy dinner for a bunch without a lot of trouble. Made as directed. A "teenager's at home with friends" dinner here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
My mom used to make this dish many years ago when we were little :) This is a good recipe. I used bread crumbs instead of saltines ( didn't have any ) and it came out just fine. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
these were reall good, I didn't use the cream of mushroom or the mushrooms since my husband doesn't like mushrooms - I substituded brown gravy for it and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States