Poor Man's Hamburger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Bexx
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I loved this dish! For the most part I followed the recipe, but like some other users I dredged the patties in a flour/saltine mix and then browned in a skillet before baking. Served the mushroom gravy on the side rather than baked with the patties, and garnished with fresh chives from the garden. I'll definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I used crushed Ritz crackers in place of the saltines because that was what I had on hand, used fat free evaporated milk instead of regular milk, used two cans of cream of mushroom soup (I wanted a thicker gravy) and I used fresh baby bella mushrooms. I cooked the mushroom "steaks" in the skillet, moved the steaks to a baking pan, then left the drippings in the skillet and sauteed the mushrooms with chopped onions with a little butter before adding the soup and milk. I just made sure to scrape the meat drippings off the bottom of the pan to capture all that good flavor. I did add a little worchestershire sauce to the "gravy". This was a quick and comforting dinner that was quite budget friendly (nevermind it used up a little of this and a little of that from my pantry before our big move) and fed all four of us very well, with a side of mashed potatoes and roasted broccoli. NO leftovers. My littlest especially loved this which was especially nice because.....that kid dosen't seem to eat much lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe "almost" to the letter. I did add a bit of steak sauce and worstershire. It came out great! My husband LOVED it and said it was the best he had ever eaten. Needless to say he took a plate to work the next day and he normally doesn't do leftovers! I served it with creamed potatoes, cabbage, brocolli casserole and rolls. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyhmn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
i scaled this back some and only added a splash of milk and added an egg. i browned on the stove and then baked it. this is solid when you dont know what to make meal. i served this over egg noodles and it was a hit. my 19 year old who hates everything ate this. : O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe and would have to agree with the other advice given, drain off the fat. Cook the meat first at 425 for 10 minutes, then drain fat and add sauce. Cook at 350 for 30 minutes. There wasn't enough sauce for the mash potatoes I served with it, so next time I will add a can of evaporated milk. I also didn't have any saltine crackers so I used a garlic & herb crackers I had. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was allright. Nothing special, but decent nonetheless. Both my hubs & I agree that Anne Marie Sweden's hamburger steaks w/ onions & gravy is FAR superior to this recipe (these "steaks" were too bland for our liking). Yes, the two are different, but only slightly so - the gravy here is mushroom based & Anne Marie's gravy is just a basic (but SUPER flavorful) brown gravy. As many others have done, I too made several changes. W/o them, I'm afraid I would have liked this even less. Keep in mind that I only made 1/3 of this recipe (4 steaks) since I was feeding 2 people. I set my oven to 425 degrees, baked my steaks for 10 min. per side, reduced the oven temp. to 350, drained all grease & then proceeded as directed. My other changes were to saute a sm. (sliced) yellow onion & a t of minced garlic in 1 T butter until softened / fragrant, top my steaks w/ the mixture, add a .75 oz. packet of McCormick brand brown gravy mix & 1.5 c. H2O to my can of condensed cream of mushroom soup & pour over all. After I took everything out of the oven, I noticed my gravy hadn't thickened (I worried about adding so much H2O, but it was too late to do anything about it). To fix the issue, I mixed 1 T cornstarch w/ 1 T cold H2O, poured my gravy into a sm. saucepan, added the cornstarch slurry & brought to a slight boil to thicken. Perfect! Served w/ garlic mashed potatoes & corn, this was an "OK" meal, but not one I'd repeat again. Thanks anyways, RHONDA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very yummy-- I scaled this down to 1 lb of beef and 1 can of cream of mushroom. I left out the milk and used an egg instead to help hold the patties together. I also seasoned the patties with onion powder and seasoned salt instead of garlic powder and italian seasoning. Following the advice of another reviewer, I first browned the patties at 425 for 10 minutes a side and then poured off the grease (glad I did- it was the cheap stuff, so there was plenty to pour off). While doing that, I sauted half an onion and a clove of garlic, then added the cream of mushroom and about 2/3 can of water and let that simmer until the patties were done browning. After pouring off the grease, I added the gravy mixture to the patties, covered with foil, and baked at 350 for another 25 minutes. It was GREAT. Served with mashed potatoes and black eyed peas-- a good cheap meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RomeLover85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I liked this recipe. I didn't measure the ingredients but it came out great. Also, I didn't have time to bake it so I fried the patties on the stove to speed up cooking time. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was yummy! I added an egg to the ground beef mixture to help hold it together, and browned both sides a little bit in the frying pan to get rid of some of the grease...cut up an onion and added it to the mixture before putting it in the oven...it ended up having to cook for about an hour and a half before the onion cooked all the way. Turned out great, the "gravy" was delicious when served over rice, served corn and green beans on the side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I made this with ground sirloin and left out the mushrooms since my husband and I aren't huge mushroom fans and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States