Poor Man's Hamburger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe and would have to agree with the other advice given, drain off the fat. Cook the meat first at 425 for 10 minutes, then drain fat and add sauce. Cook at 350 for 30 minutes. There wasn't enough sauce for the mash potatoes I served with it, so next time I will add a can of evaporated milk. I also didn't have any saltine crackers so I used a garlic & herb crackers I had. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was allright. Nothing special, but decent nonetheless. Both my hubs & I agree that Anne Marie Sweden's hamburger steaks w/ onions & gravy is FAR superior to this recipe (these "steaks" were too bland for our liking). Yes, the two are different, but only slightly so - the gravy here is mushroom based & Anne Marie's gravy is just a basic (but SUPER flavorful) brown gravy. As many others have done, I too made several changes. W/o them, I'm afraid I would have liked this even less. Keep in mind that I only made 1/3 of this recipe (4 steaks) since I was feeding 2 people. I set my oven to 425 degrees, baked my steaks for 10 min. per side, reduced the oven temp. to 350, drained all grease & then proceeded as directed. My other changes were to saute a sm. (sliced) yellow onion & a t of minced garlic in 1 T butter until softened / fragrant, top my steaks w/ the mixture, add a .75 oz. packet of McCormick brand brown gravy mix & 1.5 c. H2O to my can of condensed cream of mushroom soup & pour over all. After I took everything out of the oven, I noticed my gravy hadn't thickened (I worried about adding so much H2O, but it was too late to do anything about it). To fix the issue, I mixed 1 T cornstarch w/ 1 T cold H2O, poured my gravy into a sm. saucepan, added the cornstarch slurry & brought to a slight boil to thicken. Perfect! Served w/ garlic mashed potatoes & corn, this was an "OK" meal, but not one I'd repeat again. Thanks anyways, RHONDA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very yummy-- I scaled this down to 1 lb of beef and 1 can of cream of mushroom. I left out the milk and used an egg instead to help hold the patties together. I also seasoned the patties with onion powder and seasoned salt instead of garlic powder and italian seasoning. Following the advice of another reviewer, I first browned the patties at 425 for 10 minutes a side and then poured off the grease (glad I did- it was the cheap stuff, so there was plenty to pour off). While doing that, I sauted half an onion and a clove of garlic, then added the cream of mushroom and about 2/3 can of water and let that simmer until the patties were done browning. After pouring off the grease, I added the gravy mixture to the patties, covered with foil, and baked at 350 for another 25 minutes. It was GREAT. Served with mashed potatoes and black eyed peas-- a good cheap meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RomeLover85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I liked this recipe. I didn't measure the ingredients but it came out great. Also, I didn't have time to bake it so I fried the patties on the stove to speed up cooking time. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was yummy! I added an egg to the ground beef mixture to help hold it together, and browned both sides a little bit in the frying pan to get rid of some of the grease...cut up an onion and added it to the mixture before putting it in the oven...it ended up having to cook for about an hour and a half before the onion cooked all the way. Turned out great, the "gravy" was delicious when served over rice, served corn and green beans on the side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I made this with ground sirloin and left out the mushrooms since my husband and I aren't huge mushroom fans and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delicious comfort food! I seared my burgers on the stovetop just for color and to get rid of a litttle of the grease. Then I finished in the oven. Added a little minced onion to the burger mixture as well. Also mixed gravy mix and a little milk in with the cream of mushroom. It was outstanding and very easy! Will be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Easy and delicious. I used hamb. patties and covered with soup mixture. This was even a hit with the kids, who can be picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
THis is a great recipe.. Here is how I do mine (more like the Amish here in Pa.).. after mixing the ingredients I then press into a cookie sheet to about 3/4" .( I omit the Itialian seasoning) Chill in refridgerator for about 4 hours Then cut into squares, dredge in flour then "brown" (not cook through) both sides in a small amount of oil. Remove, Then put into your baking dish,Top w/ mushroom soup Diluted w/1/4 Can of milk or water. Bake 1 hour 325 Degrees
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I didn't bake this, I made it in my electric skillet. Used Ritz Crackers because that's what I had on hand. No canned soup aloud in my house so I used an AR recipe for Home made Cream style Soup Mix. You should check it out!! My husband said tonight's dinner was restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States