Poor Man's Hamburger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Seeing how A/R came and edited my review, I guess you can't be specific as to WHY you did not care for a recipe. I'll say it again. Recipe as written, turned out greasy and unappealing. Better read the reviews that changed this one around before trying, that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
It really was good! My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
this is very good but i suggest you use a high grade of meat so there isn't a lot of grease in the soup. And you don't cook the meat first you follow directions exactly as they are written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I used what I had on hand, 1 can cream of mushroom and 2 cans beefy mushroom soup, 24 wheat crackers and left over fresh mushrooms and onions from steaks we grilled yesterday. I browned the patties first, but I do not feel it was necessary to add to the flavor, but it did get rid of some of the grease and there was still a great deal of grease after baking for 50 min....I used 80/20 beef and an oil separator along with white paper towels to remove the excess grease. The flavor was awesome and I will make it again. It is in the "Clean Plate Club" per hubby's empty dish...I think if I put the patties in the baking dish and cook for about 30 min..without the soups and then drain and add the other ingredients that may help with the grease problem..Also may use a can of tomatoes drained or stewed and see how that is...I will cut the milk to a half cup to firm the patties up some...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bexx
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I loved this dish! For the most part I followed the recipe, but like some other users I dredged the patties in a flour/saltine mix and then browned in a skillet before baking. Served the mushroom gravy on the side rather than baked with the patties, and garnished with fresh chives from the garden. I'll definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I used crushed Ritz crackers in place of the saltines because that was what I had on hand, used fat free evaporated milk instead of regular milk, used two cans of cream of mushroom soup (I wanted a thicker gravy) and I used fresh baby bella mushrooms. I cooked the mushroom "steaks" in the skillet, moved the steaks to a baking pan, then left the drippings in the skillet and sauteed the mushrooms with chopped onions with a little butter before adding the soup and milk. I just made sure to scrape the meat drippings off the bottom of the pan to capture all that good flavor. I did add a little worchestershire sauce to the "gravy". This was a quick and comforting dinner that was quite budget friendly (nevermind it used up a little of this and a little of that from my pantry before our big move) and fed all four of us very well, with a side of mashed potatoes and roasted broccoli. NO leftovers. My littlest especially loved this which was especially nice because.....that kid dosen't seem to eat much lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe "almost" to the letter. I did add a bit of steak sauce and worstershire. It came out great! My husband LOVED it and said it was the best he had ever eaten. Needless to say he took a plate to work the next day and he normally doesn't do leftovers! I served it with creamed potatoes, cabbage, brocolli casserole and rolls. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyhmn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
i scaled this back some and only added a splash of milk and added an egg. i browned on the stove and then baked it. this is solid when you dont know what to make meal. i served this over egg noodles and it was a hit. my 19 year old who hates everything ate this. : O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe and would have to agree with the other advice given, drain off the fat. Cook the meat first at 425 for 10 minutes, then drain fat and add sauce. Cook at 350 for 30 minutes. There wasn't enough sauce for the mash potatoes I served with it, so next time I will add a can of evaporated milk. I also didn't have any saltine crackers so I used a garlic & herb crackers I had. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was allright. Nothing special, but decent nonetheless. Both my hubs & I agree that Anne Marie Sweden's hamburger steaks w/ onions & gravy is FAR superior to this recipe (these "steaks" were too bland for our liking). Yes, the two are different, but only slightly so - the gravy here is mushroom based & Anne Marie's gravy is just a basic (but SUPER flavorful) brown gravy. As many others have done, I too made several changes. W/o them, I'm afraid I would have liked this even less. Keep in mind that I only made 1/3 of this recipe (4 steaks) since I was feeding 2 people. I set my oven to 425 degrees, baked my steaks for 10 min. per side, reduced the oven temp. to 350, drained all grease & then proceeded as directed. My other changes were to saute a sm. (sliced) yellow onion & a t of minced garlic in 1 T butter until softened / fragrant, top my steaks w/ the mixture, add a .75 oz. packet of McCormick brand brown gravy mix & 1.5 c. H2O to my can of condensed cream of mushroom soup & pour over all. After I took everything out of the oven, I noticed my gravy hadn't thickened (I worried about adding so much H2O, but it was too late to do anything about it). To fix the issue, I mixed 1 T cornstarch w/ 1 T cold H2O, poured my gravy into a sm. saucepan, added the cornstarch slurry & brought to a slight boil to thicken. Perfect! Served w/ garlic mashed potatoes & corn, this was an "OK" meal, but not one I'd repeat again. Thanks anyways, RHONDA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States