Poor Man's Hamburger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Shaneen Arias
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Pretty good, although I don't like mushrooms so I used a can of cream of onion soup instead. I scaled down the recipe to 2 servings which made 4 patties. I cooked on the stove top browning the patties with sliced onion and minced garlic for added flavor. Once patties were browned on both sides I drained fat, added soup, a bit of beef broth, and beef bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaneen Arias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was so yummy! I have never had hamburger steak's before. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Cantrell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Delicious and easy. Altered ingredients for 1 lb ground beef to make 4 patties, and 1 can Cream of Mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is the first time to write a review for anything. My husband loves hamburger and I always look for new dishes. We both thought it was the best hamburger steak we had ever had and the next visit from our family, I will make this for them. Great, Great, Great!!! Thanks for sharing. Jenny in Alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't add the mushrooms, but it tastes good anyways.. Crackers surprisingly worked very well, I'm used to using bread crumbs, and was afraid that it wouldn't work very well but it worked perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My Family loved these!! Will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Seeing how A/R came and edited my review, I guess you can't be specific as to WHY you did not care for a recipe. I'll say it again. Recipe as written, turned out greasy and unappealing. Better read the reviews that changed this one around before trying, that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
It really was good! My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
this is very good but i suggest you use a high grade of meat so there isn't a lot of grease in the soup. And you don't cook the meat first you follow directions exactly as they are written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I used what I had on hand, 1 can cream of mushroom and 2 cans beefy mushroom soup, 24 wheat crackers and left over fresh mushrooms and onions from steaks we grilled yesterday. I browned the patties first, but I do not feel it was necessary to add to the flavor, but it did get rid of some of the grease and there was still a great deal of grease after baking for 50 min....I used 80/20 beef and an oil separator along with white paper towels to remove the excess grease. The flavor was awesome and I will make it again. It is in the "Clean Plate Club" per hubby's empty dish...I think if I put the patties in the baking dish and cook for about 30 min..without the soups and then drain and add the other ingredients that may help with the grease problem..Also may use a can of tomatoes drained or stewed and see how that is...I will cut the milk to a half cup to firm the patties up some...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States