Poor Man's Hamburger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I scaled it down a bit. I used 2 lbs. of 90/10 ground beef, 17 saltines, 1/3 cup of milk, 1 XL egg, 2 cans of soup, 1 teaspoon of Montreal seasoning in the meat and another in the soup. I omitted the salt and pepper due to the saltines, soup, and Montreal seasoning containing large amount of salt. The garlic powder & Italian seasoning stayed the same amount. I left out the mushrooms. I seared the patties both sides first and put them side. I didn't have any fat in the pan so I took the soup and seasoning and heated to a boil, scraping up the hamburger bits. Poured the soup on the patties then covered dish with foil and baked in a preheated oven at 425 for about 20-25 minutes. This was really delicious. My family raved about it. Next time, I'm going to use low sodium soup and crackers since it was still a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Super easy and you can make substitutions. We have a large family with kids of all ages and they were ALL wanting more (age 3 to 15). Weird how such an inexpensive dish can pack so much flavor. Def a do-again dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this with fresh mushrooms rather than canned and added onions. I used the golden mushroom soup instead of the cream of mushroom.This was a good dish. I served it with baked potatoes and steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I grew up with a recipe similar to this. My Mom just crumbled and cooked the hamberger, then mixed it into the soup mixture. We called it Hamburger Gravy over Mashed Potatoes. You can use as little or as much hamburger as you want. Simple, cheap and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Simple and good. Good low-carb if you use one egg in place of milk. ( also did not serve with noodles or rice.) Used French onion soup mix for burger seasoning. Followed advice from others and browned burger in 425 degree oven for 10 minuted per side to start. Sautéed onion and garlic in butter to start,, then added gravy sauce ingredients. Need to cook dish at 350 for only 30 minutes. Author prefers burger to be well done. Not necessary. Will make again as a easy comfort food dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is a 5-star recipe AS LONG AS YOU PRE-COOK the hamburgers, then DRAIN AND WIPE the pan clean of grease .... THEN oven bake them. The taste & flavor of these ingredients is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
After reading many many helpful feedback entries I too cooked the patties for 10mins each side in a 425 oven, drained off the grease and then returned to dish. I sautéed onion, garlic and added a knorr beef stock cup to pan. After the stock melted I added the cans of cream of mushroom and allowed to simmer until the meat was done on the 20 mins of first step. After draining and wiping out dish I spooned gravy mixture on bottom replaced patties and covered with rest of gravy. Covered with foil and cooked for an hour more at 350. I also was heavy handed with the garlic powder and added onion powder. Simple and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These were amazing! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Great start for a meal to suit us all. Took lots of ideas from comments from others. Scaled the recipe for 4 - I had only 1-1/2 pounds of HB. Added a packed of AuJus gravy mix, subbed 3 cloves minced garlic for garlic powder. Sweated one yellow, sweet onion with minced garlic. Then added 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 soup can water, l soup can water, 1 t Worchester Sauce. Lots of black pepper as we like that. Served with elbow mac and steamed green beans. THE ENTIRE family loved every bite and wanted more!!! SO Easy, SO quick, and so satisfying. Thanks, Rhonda35 for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Very very good! Made this tonight and my husband loved it!! Browned the meat in a pan first and then the oven. Seved over white rice. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States