Poor Man's Hamburger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Easy to make and delicious. I added onions to the top of mine before cooking. Served with smashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This recipe was good, not great. The meat needed something more. I'm not quite sure what, but needed a little more taste. That being said this recipe is extremely easy and perfect for large dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I wish I had read the reviews first because mine was swimming in grease (although unhealthy, mighty tasty). I think in the future I will cook the patties for a bit and then pour off the grease then put cream of mushroom and mushrooms on and cook it the rest of the way. However, I gave it five stars because myself and my kids gobbled every bite on our plates until we were full as ticks. My two year old kept asking for more and you know how picky a two year old can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These were delicious! I used a combo of ground beef and turkey and seasoned with Nature's Season Salt. I added a few extra crackers and baked the patties without the soup topping for 10-15 mins which helped get out some of the grease. Drained and then topped with sauteed onions and garlic and soup. Baked 45 mins, flipped and then baked 15 mins more. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Looking for something different and easy? This is it. Some people said it was a bit greasy, maybe you should try a leaner meat. My beef is home grown and lean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
We love these! An easy and inexpensive meal that is good with mashed potatoes or egg noodles. I did add some garlic, and Worcestershire sauce and used fresh mushrooms. I also used panco because I did not have an crackers. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenjem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
It turned out GREAT!! I will definitely do this again. I didn't use the cherry but added red onion. Way to go chef, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is very good I also kind of do this with pork chops and it's a hit with my family have it quite often...but what I do is brown the meat In a large skillet with the seasonings and then make a homemade gravy in the skillet by using flour with the drippings to brown then add in soup n also a brown or mushroom gravy packet then put it all in a dish and let it bake in the oven till super tender and the gravy browns more and it's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Husband, tween, toddler and mom approved! I don't usually rate recipes that I didn't make exactly according to the recipe, but I think this recipe would be excellent no matter how you make the patties! I just used some Lipton Onion soup mix I had on hand (I've made a jar of it homemade) instead of the written ingredients because I didn't have them. I did bake the patties before adding the soup to remove some grease, though I used ground round and there wasn't much. It could have been mixed in with the soup. Since I only was cooking for 2 adults and 2 kids I cut the recipe way back and only used one can of soup. Two would have been better. To compensate for less gravy, I took the patties out and added a little milk to the remaining soup to thin it out and extend the gravy. Not that often that my entire family ohhhh's and ahhhhh's over dinner. This simple recipe was a hit and will be in our regular rotation now! Thanks RHONDA35!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
My family of meat eaters did not enjoy. They stated it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States