Poor Man's Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Halfway through making this recipe, I thought it was going to be a bomb, nasty, as it just tasted like flower. Boy, was I WRONG!!!! This was a very cheap-to-make recipe, but it tasted like a million dollars! I substituted Splenda (diabetic-friendly) for the entirety, but I had to add a little sugar to make it perfect, probably about 2-3 tablespoons. WOOHOO!!! Soooooo absolutely delicious! I cooled the milk/flour mixture in the freezer, probably about 10 minutes, then finished the recipe. It was not grain-y like some reviews have commented, just add dry ingredients little by little, then you'll be fine :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enya1234567890

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vick Chick
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I was amazed at how simple and tasty this frosting is!! I'm so glad I don't have to buy the trans fat (horrible for you) frosting from the store anymore!!! I know what's going into this frosting. :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Great stuff. I can't have wheat, so I used potato starch in place of the flour. It did not fluff as much as it should have, but it made a rich, velvety frosting, very satisfying. Next time, I will try corn starch, tapioca starch, or arrowroot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This recipe came out greasy and grainy when I made it (still delicious, though). However, after reading several reviews I think it's because I only let my roux cool to room temp and did not chill it. I also didn't beat the mixture for 8 minutes like another reviewer recommended- more like 4. Next time I will try those two things and hopefully it comes out as fluffy and velvety as some reviewers claim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is one my mom used to make. Velvety. I recommend you cover the paste while it cools so it doesn't form a skin.... it will be lumpy if it skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I just made this frosting and it turned out fantastic! If it didn't work for you, you cant bake! I added cocoa to it for my chocolate chocolate cake. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Wow, this frosting is a new favorite. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, but read the reviews as I made and was worried the whole time it would not come out right. My white sauce got really thick and lumpy as I was not watching/stirring the whole time, so tried whisking smooth, but it still had lumps so I put in the fridge to chill anyway. I beat my butter/sugar mixture for more than 10 minutes but it still seemed really grainy (I used regular sugar) so I was really losing hope. I pushed the chilled white sauce through a seive to get rid of any lumps and beat into the frosting and it all came together perfectly! This frosting is light and fluffy but not overly sickly sweet like buttercream frosting can be. Reminds me of the kind of fluffy frosting you get from good bakeries that you love, but you can never recreate at home....well this is it! Was awesome on a simple chocolate cake but I am sure would be great on any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect except my family hated it. They said it was like eating fluffy butter so i will not be making this again unless I tweek it a bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Joy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This recipe didn't work for me. Mine didn't firm up or anything like that and I did not care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
When I was a kid I loved to bake, a old neighbor gave me this recipe. I use to make it for my parents and brothers Birthday cakes. When I left home I lost the recipe. So glad to have found it again. (My older brother just asked me to make it for him, justs like when we were kids again)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States