Poor Man's Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Yummy! I changed this up a bit to make it a little more healthy. I used brown rice, added peas and diced carrots, and I used low sodium soy sauce. I sauteed the whites from the green onions with the peas and carrots while my rice was cooking. I then added the rice to the veggies with about 1/4 cup soy sauce. In a small skillet, I scrambled the 2 eggs and added to the rice with some ground ginger (I didn't have fresh) and the greens from the onions. Whole thing took about 10 mintues to make and it turned out pretty good. Brown rice made it a little too nutty, so next time I'll stick with white rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is good...don't really think it tastes too much like the stuff you get in take out....but still good. You do need to make sure that you add the fresh ginger because without it...it is just too plain. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
IT WAS GOOD. I ADDED SOME PEAS TO IT. I WILL MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I stirfried chopped green pepper in the sesame seed oil till tender then added frozen peas and carrots. Once the veggies looked good I added the rice and soy sauce. I scrambled the eggs right in the mix and it turned out delicious! Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEORADEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I was impressed by how quick and easy this was... although taste-wise it was missing something. the ginger is the key ingredient. i'd make this again, but i'm still on the search for a better fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
If your looking for a fried rice recipe as a main dish, keep looking BUT if you want it to accompany a meal (IE: Stir fry or asian beef skewers) this is a decent recipe. Its not too exciting but its a simple side dish. Was okay with our beef stir-fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
I Loved it I will make it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I'm sorry but this was just terribly bland, even when I used a lot more soy sauce, there still wasn't much improvement. I could only manage a couple bites before I gave up on it entirely. I won't be making this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Very quick and easy to make. Tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This great for a budget lunch; loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spencerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States