Poor Man's Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I'd give it 4.5 stars. It's not bad for being exactly what I was looking for -- an easy, flavourful fried rice dish that wouldn't take me all night to prepare. I added shrimp, garlic and red peppers and they were all outstanding additions. Agree that it's the ginger that makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This was a really great quick and easy recipe. I used an egg substitute to make it more healthy. My family really enjoyed it, kids and husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I was impressed by how quick and easy this was... although taste-wise it was missing something. the ginger is the key ingredient. i'd make this again, but i'm still on the search for a better fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I stirfried chopped green pepper in the sesame seed oil till tender then added frozen peas and carrots. Once the veggies looked good I added the rice and soy sauce. I scrambled the eggs right in the mix and it turned out delicious! Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEORADEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This was good. I added a clove of chopped garlic because after working in a Japanese Teppanyaki restaurant, I watched the chefs add plenty of garlic! You may also want to add dashes of garlic salt and sesame seeds for authentic fried rice. Overall, not bad and will easily compliment an Asian meal,it will not over power the other foods. I served this with Peanut-Ginger Marinated Chicken from this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is a great basic fried rice. I modify it by adding ginger and garlic paste, mixed with a little green chilly. I also add diced pieces of hot dogs or sausages. I've even tried adding pre-fried bacon bits. It always turns out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I had a feeling when I served this everyone was going to complain but I was pleasantly surprised when they loved it! I added chicken and not one bite went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Nice easy recipe - one easy way to make it more meal like is to use only one egg and add baby shrimp - they do this in Taiwan and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Yummy! I changed this up a bit to make it a little more healthy. I used brown rice, added peas and diced carrots, and I used low sodium soy sauce. I sauteed the whites from the green onions with the peas and carrots while my rice was cooking. I then added the rice to the veggies with about 1/4 cup soy sauce. In a small skillet, I scrambled the 2 eggs and added to the rice with some ground ginger (I didn't have fresh) and the greens from the onions. Whole thing took about 10 mintues to make and it turned out pretty good. Brown rice made it a little too nutty, so next time I'll stick with white rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe is a keeper. Easy, quick and tasty. We added other veggies like sweet red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States