Poor Man's Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
The kids loved it and even asked for seconds! I used ground chicken instead of hamburger and dredged in whole wheat flour instead of regular flour. I also made the gravy with lowfat milk!! I used 2 lbs of ground chicken made them into patties seasoned them with a variety of spices and pan fried them. Then cooled them, dredged them and back in the pan. I will definitely make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superwoman8977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I have made this many times and it is always a huge hit with the family. I follow the recipe directly, but double the gravy recipe. Goes great with mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
The meat patties themselves were very good, but the gravy wasn't very good. It may have been because i used an iron skillet, but i didn't like the gravy on the patties at all. I ended up just eating it on a hamburger bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kindralynn85
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was very good. I did do it my own way though. I used more seasonings ( onion powder, cayenne pepper) in the flour. I also used organic flour and fried it in coconut oil. I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was ok, but not much flavor. Bland hamburger, and bland breading. So I seasoned the hamburger with season salt, Worcestershire and fresh crack black pepper, same with eggs, same with flour, so it should have been over seasoned. But it was still kind of blah. I dont know what it needs, but it needs something. I will figure it out, and fix it. I bet it would be good with ground pork instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I enjoyed making this because it was messy and entertaining but the second I took a bite, I regretted wasting my ingredients to make it! I was so disgusted with this dish. I am just glad that I decided to make it for myself and not my family the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
The only change I would make is less batter, you don't need it. Otherwise, this meal turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Erwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Really good cfs, not like the one I had at Chilis, but then....This is made with hamburger meat. It's definitely worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
The Only Changes For This Would Try For Leaner Ground Beef If On Sale. Less Eggs Whole.Prehaps 2 Eggs & 2 Whites.Use 2% Milk In Place Of Whole Milk & You Are There!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I just finished making this and it was absolutely wonderful! I did add salt and pepper to everything from mixing the burgers, the eggs, the flour and the gravy. This was so easy, I will be making again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States