Poor Man's Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is great! I was asked twice in one weekend to bring this to two different parties. Everyone loved! I try to make this the day before. I used Italian dressing instead of vinegar & oil & used 1 can of tomatoes with green chiles instead of plum tomatoes, added cilantro, lime juice & garlic. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I brought this to a neighborhood party and everyone loved it. It's a new favorite and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I modified this quite a bit incorporating suggestions of other reviewers. I first made it during the winter when good tomatoes were hard to find. As modified i likeed both the ease and taste. --2 avocado, peeled and cut into bite-size chunks (make sure avocados not too ripe. Stores better and longer if avocado a little green) --2 medium cans of diced tomatoes and 1 medium can of diced tomatoes with chilis (all very well drained). Omitted chilis, green onions, hot sauce, and roma tomatoes. --Zest and juice of one lime --Large bunch of cilantro (finely chopped) (fresh cilantro is key to taste) --1 tablespoon of store bought minced garlic (the fresh garlic was a little raw tasting) --1 can whole kernel corn (drained; we like the taste of vacuum packed corn best) --2 cans black beans rinsed and drained --1/4 cup Red Wine Vinegar --1/4 olive oil --salt and pepper to taste. Mix all together and store in refrigerator. Makes a great side that goes with so many things--chips, crackers, or just by itself. I've shared this recipe with many people. We LOVE poor man caviar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I will definitely be keeping this recipe. It is SO flavorful, and the best part is it is so good for you! I can't wait to make a big batch of this and reach for it instead of a bowl of chips. Very good recipe to have in your pocket if you're trying to eat better and not sacrifice the taste. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
So good, so fresh! Next time I don't think I'll use as much oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is one of my absolute favorite dips to serve at parties. I like it best paired with yellow tortilla chips! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made this for a family reunion and my family loved it! I used zesty Italian dressing instead of the oil and vinegar. Everyone wanted the recipe! Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was very good. I did add a little fresh cilantro, as others suggested, but I don't think it really needs anything more. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Okay. I love this stuff. Made it a few times. It's very tasty. A great cold salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
As written, this recipe is a bit bland. I improved the flavour by adding lime juice, chopped cilantro, minced garlic and sea salt. Much, much better after those additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States