Poor Man's Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is delicious and easy. Just make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
YUM! This was not a particularly pretty dish but it tasted great. I used 3 avocados and after I chop them up I squeeze some lemon or lime juice on the avocado, red onion instead of green onion, and about a 1/3 cup of chopped cilantro. I have tried it with the dressing listed in the recipe and also tried it with Italian dressing and liked the Italian dressing better. Make sure your avocados are firm yet ripe. Don't mix everything until all of the ingredients are in the bowl. The more you stir it the uglier it looks.I have also used canned tomatoes instead of fresh and it worked out fine - just drain the tomatoes well. A can of rotell tomatoes adds that extra heat if desired. This one is a keeper. Great with the Frito lay scoops! ADD SOME CILANTRO - IT MAKES IT EVEN BETTER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This is excellent and quick to fix!! I added: *Lime juice of 1 lime (also helps the avacado's not to turn brown as leftovers) *Cilantro *Used Olive Oil instead *Left out the hot sauce b/c I wanted it to be more like a guacamole - but would be great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Good dip. It does need a dash of salt and pepper. I also substitued Rotel for the tomatoes and squeezed the juice of a lime over my diced avocados before adding them to the dip to keep them from browning and to add extra flavor. I think next time I will use only 1 avocado, half of the vinegar, and no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Don't knock it til you try it! I didn't have high hopes for this recipe because it's not made with my typical favorite ingredients. I was totally wrong. It's so good and not what I really expected at all. Also, my husband normally wouldn't touch a bean dish to save his life - once I coaxed him into trying this, he devoured it. We'll definitely make this again. I prepared it exactly as described, minus the mexicorn. I had to use regular corn because I couldn't find mexicorn. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
add a dash of lemon to keep the avocado from turning brown. If you add cilantro this becomes almost a pico de gallo. great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Gone in Minutes at the college football Tailgate!! My 5 Vegetable-phobe guy roomates ATE EVERY BITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Haven't had a friend try this and dis-like! I did add fresh cilantro though and omitted the hot sauce. Although, I will try it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Great! I added the juice of a key lime and skipped the oil. Next time I might add salt, pepper, and some seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
A refreshing change from regular salsa. I changed it up a little by adding about 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, the juice of a lime, and 1/2 t dried red chiles instead of the hot pepper sauce..everyone loved, and there was none left at the end of the evening..a new favorite summertime treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States