Poor Man's Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
With the additions of lime juice, cilantro, garlic and green tabasco, this was a HIT at the Mexican party I brought it to last night. Looks pretty, tastes great and is EASY. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Delicious! I've never seen this made with avocado before, but it was a nice addition. I live in Japan and can't find black beans, so I added garbanzo beans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danart920
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
oh my... I could eat the WHOLE BOWL of this stuff!! I made a couple adjustments based on what I like and what I had on hand. I don't really like tomatoes, but I did add some picante sauce and salsa (finishing off what was at the bottom of the jars. haha). I also threw in some minced garlic, salt and pepper, and I used a little balsamic vinegar because that's what I had on hand (I used way less than what was called for). This is SO good and gets better the longer you leave it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This stuff rocks my socks off. If you haven't made it- you need to. Everyone will love you. It is a little plain as written, but I always add lots of fresh cilantro and lime. Also garlic, some chiles if you're feeling wild, and of course salt and pepper. I always add a little balsamic vinegar to it as well. So yes, I modify the heck out of it, but I'm giving it 5 stars anyway because it's that darn good. I made an enormous tub of this last summer for a family gathering and it was completely gone within ten minutes. This is the crack cocaine of dips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I loved this! I omitted the hot sauce and added a squirt of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was amazeing. Did add the garlic & the zest and juice of 1 lime. Only had dry celantro so can only imagine how even greater it would be when useing the fresh. Used regular canned corn and some chopped fresh red bell pepper. Our guests left with big smiles, a small togo pack, and the recipe. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymond, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Delicious and nutritious! In addition to eating with the chips or pita, this fills warm, soft tortillas quite nicely. Use avocados that are just ripe - not over ripe avocads that are soft and mushy. Also, mix gently. This will prevent your Mexican Caviar from looking very unappetizing. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This dish was very easy to prepare and it tasted delicious. I served this at a get together last night and everyone chowed it down. It makes alot but the entire dish was scraped clean. Everyone wanted the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Very easy and yummy! Perfect snack for family while waiting for dinner to be ready. Mine turned out a little mushy too, because of the avacados, but it's just like a guac that's kicked up a notch! I would add one more tomato and fresh cilantro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States