Poor Man's Beer Batter Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I have been using a similar recipe for years and it is great for making onion rings too! My recipe calls for a dash of hot sauce and a few sprinkles of Old Bay seasoning added to the container. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
We thought this was good. I thought it was very easy to make. I used Tilapia fillets, and just eye balled my pancake batter and beer. I did add some Old Bay, onion powder, and salt. I'll use this recipe again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
It doesn't get any easier than this! I used this recipe when I made fish for my wife and 75 yo mother. I got a thousand praises for it and thought I would pass some on to you! Plan on using this next time we camp. Thanks Psycho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This is good for veggies, peppers, eggplant, mushrooms, squash, fish, shrimp, chicken, onion rings, and dill pickle chunks. Similar to an old Bisquick recipe. First, before you fry anything, make sure your oil has a high smoke point (peanut or canola) so it doesn't burn too quickly. Second, heat your oil plenty hot, because if it is too cold, your food will be heavy and greasy. A bit of batter should float and sizzle in there at the right temperature without burning up. Third, wash and pat your food dry and dust it with some dry pancake mix before dredging it in the wet batter to make it stick well. Fourth, use the best beer you can afford and two tablespoons of a salty seasoning like cajun or Old Bay for flavor. Fifth, don't crowd your food, fry in multiple batches if necessary, and fry in hot oil until the food floats to the top and stays there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juliacooks
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Yummy Yummy Yummy! It was a little labor intensive, but was worth the work. Papa caught some trout ice fishing and we needed to eat them up! Good batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliacooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Very good and fast recipe. I even try it on pork steaks, GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and my husband loved it! I used Tilapia fillets...and served the fish with sweet potato fries. I made my own tartar sauce using mayo, pickle relish, lemon juice, and a pinch of sugar. I think I made too much batter, so I sliced up an onion and made onion rings! I have to admit, the batter didn't coat as well as I would have liked, but it was definitely delicious! The whole meal came together perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Excellent and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I used Northern Pike (fresh caught) and it was delish! I love this recipe, tastes just like my dad's. My husband also liked it. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda McAnulty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was excellent! Both my husband and I really enjoyed this. It was such an easy way to batter and fry. Will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States