Poor Man's Beer Batter Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This is good for veggies, peppers, eggplant, mushrooms, squash, fish, shrimp, chicken, onion rings, and dill pickle chunks. Similar to an old Bisquick recipe. First, before you fry anything, make sure your oil has a high smoke point (peanut or canola) so it doesn't burn too quickly. Second, heat your oil plenty hot, because if it is too cold, your food will be heavy and greasy. A bit of batter should float and sizzle in there at the right temperature without burning up. Third, wash and pat your food dry and dust it with some dry pancake mix before dredging it in the wet batter to make it stick well. Fourth, use the best beer you can afford and two tablespoons of a salty seasoning like cajun or Old Bay for flavor. Fifth, don't crowd your food, fry in multiple batches if necessary, and fry in hot oil until the food floats to the top and stays there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I have been using a similar recipe for years and it is great for making onion rings too! My recipe calls for a dash of hot sauce and a few sprinkles of Old Bay seasoning added to the container. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I wouldn't call it quick; battering the fish can be a little time consuming. Won't deny that is indeed tasty though, and easy for the most part! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I used tilapia as I am not a trout fan/it was a hit at home. My version was a 5 for us....I gave the version "as is" a 4 because it is a bit bland and I did make some minor changes. I added 1 tsp of baking powder and 1 TB of lemon juice....I do the same thing to the pancake batter at home for pancakes because it makes it lighter/fluffier...just a personal preferance.....so since I make my pancakes that way I did the same with a pancake based recipe. The thing that was more of an issue is this batter is a great base but totally lacks seasoning. I added 1/4 tsp each of salt, pepper, paprika, garlic and Cajun seasoning. To the person that it came out oily: sounds like your oil was not hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
If it sticks and soaks up the oil you probably cooked it in COLD oil....and probably didn't have enough....:>( you fry at ....375 degrees !!!! this recipe works just great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
it was like eating fishy old beer tasting pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtdrms81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
For poor man...this is great. The cost of the fish is not so great. But where I'm at I didn't have acccess to fresh, but it was frozen. Plus my grocer did not have trout. SO I purchased an arrange for fish selections to try & see what worked & tasted best with what was offered.. I purchased Cod, Tilapia, Perch & Flounder filets. Each had done rather well but there were some drawbacks.. While they were all good with the batter. The longer the batter sits as your dipping and frying the less the batter tends to be nice and thick. The Cod was the 1st to dunk into the batter & it puffed and golden really well & was a favorite. Totally delish, but the batter in the beginning has a slight sweetness to. But with the rest of the fish, that disappeared. Note: did use buttermilk brand. The perch had the skin on & that made my fish curl in the frying process & batter wasn't thick but rather thin. The Tilapia, I cut down the center & fried. It was also a favorite, the batter on the Tilapia was really nice & stayed well coated. The Flounder was delish as well & did the same thing as the Perch. It thinned. But as I realize in the process. The reason is because Perch & Flounder are moister & holds more liquids there for the water was sweating out threw the batter making it thinner. But it still worked. Using the cod & tilapia was quite nice. This is a quick and easy recipe. Will make again. I used wheat beer, will try a malt one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Very good and fast recipe. I even try it on pork steaks, GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
It doesn't get any easier than this! I used this recipe when I made fish for my wife and 75 yo mother. I got a thousand praises for it and thought I would pass some on to you! Plan on using this next time we camp. Thanks Psycho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was a really good and really quick batter. I used it for frying onion rings and fresh veggies out of the garden. I used Krusteaz pancake batter mix and it turned out really good. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 though, just because I've made better beer batters before, but for the ease of this recipe, it is definitely a keeper and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodigirlpa

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States