Poor Man's Beer Batter Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
It doesn't get any easier than this! I used this recipe when I made fish for my wife and 75 yo mother. I got a thousand praises for it and thought I would pass some on to you! Plan on using this next time we camp. Thanks Psycho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
we tried this and it was a disaster. the coating stuck to the pan while cooking so only a couple of pieces looked edible. But also the pancake batter really soaks up the oil making everything taste heavy. Definitely not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
If it sticks and soaks up the oil you probably cooked it in COLD oil....and probably didn't have enough....:>( you fry at ....375 degrees !!!! this recipe works just great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This is good for veggies, peppers, eggplant, mushrooms, squash, fish, shrimp, chicken, onion rings, and dill pickle chunks. Similar to an old Bisquick recipe. First, before you fry anything, make sure your oil has a high smoke point (peanut or canola) so it doesn't burn too quickly. Second, heat your oil plenty hot, because if it is too cold, your food will be heavy and greasy. A bit of batter should float and sizzle in there at the right temperature without burning up. Third, wash and pat your food dry and dust it with some dry pancake mix before dredging it in the wet batter to make it stick well. Fourth, use the best beer you can afford and two tablespoons of a salty seasoning like cajun or Old Bay for flavor. Fifth, don't crowd your food, fry in multiple batches if necessary, and fry in hot oil until the food floats to the top and stays there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I have been using a similar recipe for years and it is great for making onion rings too! My recipe calls for a dash of hot sauce and a few sprinkles of Old Bay seasoning added to the container. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juliacooks
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Yummy Yummy Yummy! It was a little labor intensive, but was worth the work. Papa caught some trout ice fishing and we needed to eat them up! Good batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliacooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Very good and fast recipe. I even try it on pork steaks, GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I wouldn't call it quick; battering the fish can be a little time consuming. Won't deny that is indeed tasty though, and easy for the most part! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
it was like eating fishy old beer tasting pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtdrms81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
The only reason I gave this two stars is for the choice of fish. Don't use trout filets. They're full of bones and too fishy tasting. Use some type of white fish, like cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States