Poor Man's Beer Batter Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
>>READ WHY 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was excellent! Both my husband and I really enjoyed this. It was such an easy way to batter and fry. Will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I didnt use the pancake mix due to adding more carbs... marinate my speckled trout in can of beer & yellow mustard... the key is to get your temp to 350 to fry... if not,it is oily &* soggy no matter what batter you use..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I used tilapia as I am not a trout fan/it was a hit at home. My version was a 5 for us....I gave the version "as is" a 4 because it is a bit bland and I did make some minor changes. I added 1 tsp of baking powder and 1 TB of lemon juice....I do the same thing to the pancake batter at home for pancakes because it makes it lighter/fluffier...just a personal preferance.....so since I make my pancakes that way I did the same with a pancake based recipe. The thing that was more of an issue is this batter is a great base but totally lacks seasoning. I added 1/4 tsp each of salt, pepper, paprika, garlic and Cajun seasoning. To the person that it came out oily: sounds like your oil was not hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
We thought this was good. I thought it was very easy to make. I used Tilapia fillets, and just eye balled my pancake batter and beer. I did add some Old Bay, onion powder, and salt. I'll use this recipe again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I used Northern Pike (fresh caught) and it was delish! I love this recipe, tastes just like my dad's. My husband also liked it. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda McAnulty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Excellent and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and my husband loved it! I used Tilapia fillets...and served the fish with sweet potato fries. I made my own tartar sauce using mayo, pickle relish, lemon juice, and a pinch of sugar. I think I made too much batter, so I sliced up an onion and made onion rings! I have to admit, the batter didn't coat as well as I would have liked, but it was definitely delicious! The whole meal came together perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was a really good and really quick batter. I used it for frying onion rings and fresh veggies out of the garden. I used Krusteaz pancake batter mix and it turned out really good. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 though, just because I've made better beer batters before, but for the ease of this recipe, it is definitely a keeper and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodigirlpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
The only reason I gave this two stars is for the choice of fish. Don't use trout filets. They're full of bones and too fishy tasting. Use some type of white fish, like cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States