Poor Man's Beer Batter Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Everyone in my family loved this batter. I followed another reviewers suggestion of 2/3 cup water, 2/3 cup milk, and 1/8 cup baking powder. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan B-R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I used this recipe when I went camping. It was very easy and tasteful, not to mention a nice texture. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
To the person who left a two star review, because trout is fishy and boney.........Fish does not taste fishy, nor smell fishy if it is fresh. Try buying your fish from somewhere that sells fresh products. A trout has the same bone pattern as a salmon, I catch salmon and trout all the time, if filleted properly and the pin bones are pulled out of the fillet, there should be no bones at all in it. This recipe is great, for the simple fact it is easy. Any recipe that only takes 4-5 ingredients is great in my book! I'm also giving a 4 out of five because I have had some from scratch recipes that are a little bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
The batter itself is very tasty. But there wasn't enough oil to fry the fish and all the batter ended up getting stuck on the pan. Next time I will use a deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
For poor man...this is great. The cost of the fish is not so great. But where I'm at I didn't have acccess to fresh, but it was frozen. Plus my grocer did not have trout. SO I purchased an arrange for fish selections to try & see what worked & tasted best with what was offered.. I purchased Cod, Tilapia, Perch & Flounder filets. Each had done rather well but there were some drawbacks.. While they were all good with the batter. The longer the batter sits as your dipping and frying the less the batter tends to be nice and thick. The Cod was the 1st to dunk into the batter & it puffed and golden really well & was a favorite. Totally delish, but the batter in the beginning has a slight sweetness to. But with the rest of the fish, that disappeared. Note: did use buttermilk brand. The perch had the skin on & that made my fish curl in the frying process & batter wasn't thick but rather thin. The Tilapia, I cut down the center & fried. It was also a favorite, the batter on the Tilapia was really nice & stayed well coated. The Flounder was delish as well & did the same thing as the Perch. It thinned. But as I realize in the process. The reason is because Perch & Flounder are moister & holds more liquids there for the water was sweating out threw the batter making it thinner. But it still worked. Using the cod & tilapia was quite nice. This is a quick and easy recipe. Will make again. I used wheat beer, will try a malt one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
GREAT recipe. My son said the fish was even good as cold leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldielocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
the taste was good, but they over browned in my deep fryer. was worth the try though (my husband was not happy about sacrificing his last beer though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is an awesome camping recipe for fish and/or veggies. I always add some seasoning (whatever I have on hand) to the pancake mix before I add the beer. Then shake, shake, shake dip and fry!! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefdujourr

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
sooooooooooo DELICIOUS! and easy! i'm definitely making this again. when my father-in-law brought us a trout he caught, i didn't want to take it because i didn't want it to go to waste. my sister-in-law cleaned it for me and i used this simple, delicious recipe. the whole family loved it!!!! (i made the pancakes as directed on the box because i was making them at home)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
>>READ WHY 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States