Poor Irish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Yum!! A bit salty but I fixed it...my husband wouldn't eat it because of the way it looked, but that's ok, more for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Really tasty and good for you. I don't think I added any cream (can't remember). I did use a ham bone and a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was an awesome recipe. I made a last minute decision not to make fried cabbage and potatoes and went searching for casserole ideas when I found this recipe. I added onions, sauteed garlic, and broccoli. I used leftover honey-baked ham instead of the ham hock, and chicken bouillon because I didn't have stock. I made a roux, whisked in some of the broth and added it when the soup was almost done for thickness. A generous dash of adobo seasoning... Delicious. Next time... I'm thinking of adding broccoli, and fresh grated Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This recipe, minus the chicken stock, was made by my grandmother who was born and raised in Ireland. She would just use a ham bone. In Ireland, then did not eat corned beef and cabbage, it was always ham and cabbage. When Irish immigrants moved to Boston, the jewish neighborhood was nearby. They suggested the corned beef instead, due to the fact that at that time in Boston, corned beef was much cheaper tha ham. That is the reason for the change, however ham and cabbage is actually the Irish original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I used to eat this when I was younger as I grew up with a garden. I did not have a ham hock, so I cubed a small ham steak, still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My ham hock was a raw smoked one which needed soaking overnight with regular changes of cold water. I then simmered it in fresh water for 1.5 hours to cook it. After this I used thisrecipe as a base as I didn't fancy a hock and beans/lentils dish but used potatoes, carrots and parsnips as that was what I had. I know that this review is not accurate for the base recipe but as the author hints at it's a great flexible starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
What a great base! I was looking for something to do with Ham Hocks that didn't involve beans. I made a huge pot and added carrots, onion, garlic, celery and kale (which was amazing) and subbed evap milk for the cream. Will definately be on the list for my next ham hock. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very basic. Cheap. Easy. If you have a good ham hock, you can just use water (even cheaper). Nothing spectacular, but very good none the less. I added two small onions and was very glad I did. They added good flavor that you could really taste because of the few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Thanks for ideas on what to do when supplies and cash are limited! Great invention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Hubby loved it. I used leftover Easter ham and frozen hash browns. He suggests adding carrots and onion to make it heartier. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States