Poor Irish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This recipe, minus the chicken stock, was made by my grandmother who was born and raised in Ireland. She would just use a ham bone. In Ireland, then did not eat corned beef and cabbage, it was always ham and cabbage. When Irish immigrants moved to Boston, the jewish neighborhood was nearby. They suggested the corned beef instead, due to the fact that at that time in Boston, corned beef was much cheaper tha ham. That is the reason for the change, however ham and cabbage is actually the Irish original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Really tasty and good for you. I don't think I added any cream (can't remember). I did use a ham bone and a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Yum!! A bit salty but I fixed it...my husband wouldn't eat it because of the way it looked, but that's ok, more for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I added onions,garlic, basil and parsley and used a cubed ham steak instead and it was incredible. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This soup was sensational and I've shared it with others many times. I did make some changes but only because I had extra vegetables sitting around and I didn't want them to go to waste. That is what is so great about this recipe, vegetables can be added and subtracted easily so the versatility is high in this soup. Prior to adding any of the ingredients, I sautéed carrots, onions, celery and garlic in some olive oil in order to sweat them slightly (about 2-3 minutes). Then I followed the recipe as directed. The meat on the ham hock just fell off the bone and tasted so tender. It was amazing. My husband and I could not get enough. Do not pass this recipe up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
What a great base! I was looking for something to do with Ham Hocks that didn't involve beans. I made a huge pot and added carrots, onion, garlic, celery and kale (which was amazing) and subbed evap milk for the cream. Will definately be on the list for my next ham hock. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Hubby loved it. I used leftover Easter ham and frozen hash browns. He suggests adding carrots and onion to make it heartier. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Thanks for ideas on what to do when supplies and cash are limited! Great invention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very basic. Cheap. Easy. If you have a good ham hock, you can just use water (even cheaper). Nothing spectacular, but very good none the less. I added two small onions and was very glad I did. They added good flavor that you could really taste because of the few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was an awesome recipe. I made a last minute decision not to make fried cabbage and potatoes and went searching for casserole ideas when I found this recipe. I added onions, sauteed garlic, and broccoli. I used leftover honey-baked ham instead of the ham hock, and chicken bouillon because I didn't have stock. I made a roux, whisked in some of the broth and added it when the soup was almost done for thickness. A generous dash of adobo seasoning... Delicious. Next time... I'm thinking of adding broccoli, and fresh grated Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States