Pool Party Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
This is a nice recipe, however, by adding some chopped fresh basil or coriander/cilantro..it becomes outstanding. Green peppers tend to have a stronger flavour, so try substituting red peppers, or better yet..roasted peppers!! Bottled Italian dressing is usually salty, pungent and generally nasty. Suggest that a vinaigrette such as Dijon, Lemon or Balsamic be used as a better tasting and wonderful alternative. Throwing in some chopped sun dried tomatoes is also a nice addition. Pasta salad is so versatile that it lends itself to a variety of additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I took this salad to a church pot luck and received many compliments on it. It is a great a wonderful combination of chicken and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I think the wonderful thing about this recipe is how quick and easy it is, not to mention cheap. I ALL of the ingredients for under 10 dollars. Also it makes a very large amount. I think it is best kept simple, and is still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
The quality of the outcome of this recipe depends SO MUCH on the dressing used....I used a Garlic Herb Italian Vinegrette, and it was great!! Also subbed canned asparagus for the fresh(none to be found at the market),, a roasted red pepper for the green(more mellow taste), regular hothouse tomato instead of cherry(ditto on the lack thereof), frozen broccoli florets(added to pasta water), added a few secret spices of my own, and used asiago cheese(more mellow flavor, and not EIGHT DOLLARS A POUND!). After sampling, sold for $25 at our Kiwanas auction. Definately a keeper with tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I used spiral whole wheat pasta and only used 1/2 of what it called for. I think five minutes for the asparagus may have been a minute or so too long. I steamed some frozen chopped broccoli and added to the noodle mixture. I doubled the amount of meat, using heavily seasoned (garlic powder, basil, paprika, and 1/2 a chopped onion) ground chicken breast. I used garbonzo beans, no olives, and a roasted red bell pepper. I didn't have any tomatoes. I used a little parm and shredded low fat monterey jack. For the dressing, I cut it in half and did a 1/4 cup honey mustard and 1/4 light zesty Italian dressing. I chilled it and when we got home from a late evening in church, we had a wonderful dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was wonderful! I used a box of whole wheat rotini pasta by Muellers. I also used Good Seasons natural italian salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This was a fine recipe. It was good cold and warmed up. We ate the leftovers for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Andover, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was awesome. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used a can of whole olives and cut them in half. I may have added a bit more asparagus than called for and I threw the asparagus and broccoli in with the noodles when there was 4 minutes left instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This has been a staple at our weekend parties. Our friends love it. I skip the meat and broccoli and add artichokes. I add different veggies depending on what is available to cut up. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami Cameron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Very good and simple. You can add whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States