Poochie Meat Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
My old Belgian Sheepdog is now going through chemotherapy and this recipe has literally saved his life. He eats it with absolute relish and it has kept his energy level up despite what he is going through. All I can say is WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Great recipe. I found ground turkey to be less expensive than ground beef and my dog loves it. I made most of this in loaf pans -- just like meat loaf -- and use a slab of it as a serving. This is the first time my dog has ever eaten everything in her bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
My 13 year old Beagle has been going through chemo since last August. I was feeding him only chicken, rice, and vegetables mixed together, but he barely ate the rice or vegetables. With this recipe, he eats everything. I'll make it with ground chicken or turkey next time, so he can have both red and white meat. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I made this recipe tonight and my chihuahua LOVED it! He gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
We make this all the time. I add liver that I chop into fine bits and we make it in 9x13 pans instead of muffin pans then cut it into squares and mix it in with dry dog food. It's time consuming to make and makes alot, but we just freeze it and it lasts for weeks and weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
My dog recently had surgery and had to have a bunch of teeth removed, so I made her a batch of these and she absolutely loves them. I made some smaller ones in the mini muffin tins and they're so perfect for treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I added some chopped garlic and ginger to the water for the rice, then added some chopped brocolli to the recipe. My hubbie came into the kitchen as they were cooling, took a taste and announced he really liked what I made for dinner. Now my hubbie is begging for the dogs food...move over roover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My chihuahua LOVES this recipe. I used ground turkey and any vegetables I had on hand. It is a little dry, but gravy helps. My dog wants to eat it so fast that she chokes on it because she won't stop long enough to take a drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
My 7year old Lab and my 1 year old MinPin both love this...I add dry kibble to the big dog's meal. I used large package of chicken thighs (boiled), instead of ground meat.Also, just left whole from pan, and break off what I want per meal (also froze some).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I decided to try this for my year old Jack Russell. Before, I was feeding her dry kibble mixed with a little wet food and she liked it, but after eating, she would get sick. I made this recipe last week, and cut the recipe in half because I wasn't sure if she'd eat it. I added pound of chicken livers and used 2 lbs. of ground turkey instead of beef. I mixed it with her dry kibble to begin with, and she would push all of her kibble out of the bowl and just eat the homemade food. She loves this food! She hasn't been sick since starting this diet. I was dog sitting for my mother last week and put down some dry kibble for the Japenese Chin. My dog wouldn't touch it! I will never buy dog food again! She seems so much healthier now! I'm so glad I tried this! Thanks to all the reviewers, because of what they said, I was convinced to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

How to Clarify Butter

See a simple process that lets butter withstand higher heat.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States