Poochie Meat Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
My 13 year old Beagle has been going through chemo since last August. I was feeding him only chicken, rice, and vegetables mixed together, but he barely ate the rice or vegetables. With this recipe, he eats everything. I'll make it with ground chicken or turkey next time, so he can have both red and white meat. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
We make this all the time. I add liver that I chop into fine bits and we make it in 9x13 pans instead of muffin pans then cut it into squares and mix it in with dry dog food. It's time consuming to make and makes alot, but we just freeze it and it lasts for weeks and weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Great recipe. I found ground turkey to be less expensive than ground beef and my dog loves it. I made most of this in loaf pans -- just like meat loaf -- and use a slab of it as a serving. This is the first time my dog has ever eaten everything in her bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
My old Belgian Sheepdog is now going through chemotherapy and this recipe has literally saved his life. He eats it with absolute relish and it has kept his energy level up despite what he is going through. All I can say is WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I have been making homemade dog food from a recipe I developed about 2 years ago. The results to my dogs health have been fabulous and unexpected by me. I think this recipe is great, however I used ground turkey instead of the beef and cooked the brown rice with a homemade broth. I think if you wanted you could also add different vegetables. My recipe is one I cook on the stovetop, but I liked the idea of individual cakes. My recipe also includes all of the ingredients here, except I use sweet potatoes. My dogs loved this one as a change from their regular food. One of the great things about a homemade diet is you don't have to be so careful to wean the dogs on or off their standard food. My dogs digestive systems are so healthy that they never seem to have upset tummies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I made this recipe tonight and my chihuahua LOVED it! He gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I added some chopped garlic and ginger to the water for the rice, then added some chopped brocolli to the recipe. My hubbie came into the kitchen as they were cooling, took a taste and announced he really liked what I made for dinner. Now my hubbie is begging for the dogs food...move over roover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
My dog recently had surgery and had to have a bunch of teeth removed, so I made her a batch of these and she absolutely loves them. I made some smaller ones in the mini muffin tins and they're so perfect for treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My chihuahua LOVES this recipe. I used ground turkey and any vegetables I had on hand. It is a little dry, but gravy helps. My dog wants to eat it so fast that she chokes on it because she won't stop long enough to take a drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
My dog has a rice intolerance, so I just replaced the rice with quinoa. He loved it. What dog is not going to love a meat patty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

How to Clarify Butter

See a simple process that lets butter withstand higher heat.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States