Poochie Meat Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This recipe is great. I grow our own vegetables and enjoy being able to fix them for our new pocket beagle puppy as well. I search out the reduced for quick sale section at the meat counter and have gotten some really great deals on ground turkey or chicken as well as the ground beef to use in this recipe. I even found some muffin tins at a yard sale to use and cook up a huge batch all at once. Once they are cooled I just bag them up and toss them in the freezer so I can just grab one and defrost it up to serve up a nice warm breakfast for her in the morning with her dry food. She comes running now when she hears the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
My dog has a rice intolerance, so I just replaced the rice with quinoa. He loved it. What dog is not going to love a meat patty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I have been making homemade dog food from a recipe I developed about 2 years ago. The results to my dogs health have been fabulous and unexpected by me. I think this recipe is great, however I used ground turkey instead of the beef and cooked the brown rice with a homemade broth. I think if you wanted you could also add different vegetables. My recipe is one I cook on the stovetop, but I liked the idea of individual cakes. My recipe also includes all of the ingredients here, except I use sweet potatoes. My dogs loved this one as a change from their regular food. One of the great things about a homemade diet is you don't have to be so careful to wean the dogs on or off their standard food. My dogs digestive systems are so healthy that they never seem to have upset tummies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I decided to try this for my year old Jack Russell. Before, I was feeding her dry kibble mixed with a little wet food and she liked it, but after eating, she would get sick. I made this recipe last week, and cut the recipe in half because I wasn't sure if she'd eat it. I added pound of chicken livers and used 2 lbs. of ground turkey instead of beef. I mixed it with her dry kibble to begin with, and she would push all of her kibble out of the bowl and just eat the homemade food. She loves this food! She hasn't been sick since starting this diet. I was dog sitting for my mother last week and put down some dry kibble for the Japenese Chin. My dog wouldn't touch it! I will never buy dog food again! She seems so much healthier now! I'm so glad I tried this! Thanks to all the reviewers, because of what they said, I was convinced to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
2 months ago I adopted a dog. She appeared to be a little underweight and would barely eat the kibble her foster home had been giving her. I tried out this recipe and it was like night and day! She is no longer underweight and really appears to enjoy this food. The only problem I see is that it is quite dry and soft, so my dog eats it too quickly, almost choking on it. I add either unsweetened applesauce or plain yogurt so that my dog has to eat it slower (plus both are good for dogs). I also add a vitamin supplement to her daily meals for balance. I also make it in pans rather than muffin tins, as its less of a hassle to me during baking, then I just chop it up and freeze it! Using a food processor makes it even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
My very picky Chihuahua ate every bite of the meat cakes that I made her today. She loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a a great recipe! First, I just wanted to see if our 2 dogs liked it, and second, I was amazed how much cheaper it is than the store-bought kind. Thanks Shelley..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiMi's Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
My 7year old Lab and my 1 year old MinPin both love this...I add dry kibble to the big dog's meal. I used large package of chicken thighs (boiled), instead of ground meat.Also, just left whole from pan, and break off what I want per meal (also froze some).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My chihuahua LOVES this recipe. I used ground turkey and any vegetables I had on hand. It is a little dry, but gravy helps. My dog wants to eat it so fast that she chokes on it because she won't stop long enough to take a drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I added some chopped garlic and ginger to the water for the rice, then added some chopped brocolli to the recipe. My hubbie came into the kitchen as they were cooling, took a taste and announced he really liked what I made for dinner. Now my hubbie is begging for the dogs food...move over roover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States