Poochie Meat Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Ok so I didn't have this much ground beef and my dogs are spoiled so I used what I had in the freezer which was sausage n beef cubes. I cut the cubes up in small pieces and made the recipe as called for. My very spoiled beagles loved it. The only other change I made was I don't have this many muffin tins so I used a bread pan and made it like a meatloaf. I will cut off a slab for each of the dogs. Dogs went nuts for it. Not sure if they will ever go back to dog food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I didn't try them myself, but my dogs certainly liked these. I didn't have celery, so I added extra carrot and potato. I wasn't certain what was meant by "large" muffin tins. I have one six-compartment tin that makes really BIG muffins, but that seemed too large. I only made 1/3 of the recipe since I had just under 2 lbs of beef to use. That amount of mixture made 24 meat cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My dog had to poke aroud with this before eating it , however my daughter dogs (all Four) loved it I did add cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Started making dog treats a few months ago when we took in another foster dog. Was hesitant over this recipe as I can't cook decent rice for my own family let alone the dogs. But this recipe is so easy to make the all four dogs (two mine, two fostered) love them. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My dog absolutely loves these. She knows as soon as I pull out the muffin tins, that I will be making her favorite food. I make half the recipe and that produces 18 large muffins. I freeze in 2's and give her 1 /day. Her other feedings consist of her dry food. I only defrost 2 in the frig at a time, to keep them really fresh. Takes about a day to defrost. Great recipe...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoenixrising

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Wonderful and easy to make. Very easy to alter and adjust. I use whatever meat is on sale and switch up the veggies with each batch. My cats were jealous so I altered it again to have more meat and added cat supplements and make theirs in mini muffin pans for a nice healthy addition to their kibble. A word- if you're going to switch out ingredients make sure you aren't using anything dangerous to pets. My dogs digestive system seems much better these days, and her weight and coat are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I swear I have the pickiest dog in the world. We have tried about 5 different kinds of high end dog food and ended up throwing most of it away. But she LOVES these. She's just a little thing (about 10 lbs) so we give her half a cake twice a day. She is now a card carrying member of the Clean Plate Club!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My two labs licked their bowls clean with this one! I made little meat loaves instead of using the muffin tins, and then froze the loaves in freezer bags, 4 per bag. Definitely be prepared to use two bowls since I also used a gargantuan bowl and still needed to half the batch. Two weeks plus worth of dinners - DONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I have been using this recipe minus the celery with ground turkey for my dogs. I like the tip below to use a homemade broth for the brown rice and sweet potatoes instead of white. Will have to change up this recipe a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
The recipe is misleading when it says to use a large bowl... I used one of those big metal bowls (the ones that everyone has, you know the ones), and had to make half at a time and even then it just barely fit without spilling raw meat all over the counter. Also, it took way more than 2 hours... I'm going into my 4th hour as I type, because I've been baking 18 at a time and the last should be the 4th batch. Maybe its the size of my pans. Great recipe though. This is just a fair warning since no one else has mentioned it. Just make sure you have a lot of time and patience, or even just cut the recipe in half. I'll be feeding this to the new puppy I'm getting tomorrow!! 1-2 a day mixed with kibble should do it. Hope she likes it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

How to Clarify Butter

See a simple process that lets butter withstand higher heat.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States