Poochie Meat Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
We've been so concerned about our little pomeranian and his dry skin. I started looking for some alternate diet. It's too soon to know if it is going to help his skin issues but he sure does love love love it! I did substitute ground turkey and added a couple apples. Just put all the vegetables and fruit in the food processor and made quick work of chopping it up. Didn't have muffin pans so just put it all in a large casserole dish and baked it. Cut up into serving size pieces after it had cooled and set them on a cookie sheet in the freezer to freeze individually. Threw all the frozen pieces in a couple ziploc bags and just take out what I need each day. Adding 1/2t of UltraOil to it, (he only weighs 5lbs) and keeping my fingers crossed this will give him some relief! I am surprised how much he loves this recipe!Thanks Shelly for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
My husband is an avid hunter so I made these with a ground goose and venison mixture. everything else was the same. I baked them in mini muffin pans per someone elses' comment. My Jack Russell baby LOVES them! the next time I did add about 1 cup of flour , spread them out very thin on a jelly roll pan and made little snack crackers for treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jdixonj
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very easy to make but next time I will cut the ingredients in half. I made it for my rotties 11th bday as a cake and it was perfect! He and my two other dogs swallowed it up! They love the left overs too. I'm just adding some in their dog food until it's done. Very healthy and again, they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
YUMMY. I was looking for a healthy treat for my puppies. Not only did they love them but so did I. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I love this recipe! More importantly my dogs do too. My shih tzu had all but stopped eating store bought dog food and wouldn't get out of bed in the morning. Now he bounds downstairs ready to eat! I also substitute ground turkey and works perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DANEDREAMER
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Small changes. Made the recipe for 48. Modifications - Eliminated salt, shredded enough carrots, zucchini, and white potato to equal more than four cups, used maybe 6 or more celery stickes, reduced my ground beef to six pounds, added four cloves of garlic, about 1/2 cup more of oatmeal and 1/2 cup of rice. I would also recommend eliminating the olive oil -meat contains plenty of fat already. Used two 8"x13" pans and two cookie sheets and patted the recipe out to about 1/2". The end results were more like brownies in size and I got about 24 per pan. My Danes, well, except for one, devoured their juicy meat brownies. The one who was the least interested wanted to make sure the others realized he had some left and savored each bite that was hand fed. Overall this was a savory treat enjoyed by each of my puppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I have not tried this recipe, but I have been making my cockerspaniel food like this for years. I have never used eggs to hold it together. I use either ground turkey or beef or chicken, and mix rice, and any vegetables I have; brocolli, cauflower, carrots, peas, green beens usually. I cook my rice in chicken broth, mix all of the above together and weigh it out to a serving, and freeze in individual freezer bags. He actually likes the chicken or turkey better than the ground beef. I like the idea of the eggs, and either the 9x13 pan or muffin tins, and I will try it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cologne, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My dog is crazy about them, however I thought they took along time to make, and the meat sticks to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I changed the potatoes to sweet potatoes, dropped the carrots, used spinach instead and added a couple of apples. I just wanted a bit more nutrition. I also grind egg shells to add calcium, a much needed nutrient for dogs. I have added berries, squash, beans , millet, and flax seed for substitutes as well. You can use what ever a person is comfortable with as long as it is dog friendly! I have even cut back on the hamburger and added tofu! But the overall concept is excellent! I also found it easier to make into patties and use cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
We live on a farm and always have an abundance of ground meat! I made these exactly as the recipe stated, and both of the dogs absolutely loved them! I'm also going to try in replacing the white potatoes with sweet potatoes, since the dog food I'm presently buying has them in it and both dogs like it. THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States