Pomegranate Stew with Chicken (Khoresh Fesenjan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was pretty good. I'm used to Indian food so even though they aren't the same I was hoping it would have had a bit more spice (flavor not chili hot). It wasn't bad though and I would probably make it again. It certainly doesn't look the prettiest, but did taste better than it looked. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Althought it didn't taste like the fesenjan I get at my favorite restaurant, the flavor of this was excellent and the sauce was incredibly rich. I will definitely make this again. After reading other reviews, I subbed chicken broth for 2 cups of the pomegranate juice. However, I used POM juice and I think it is sweeter than what other people have been using. Next time I will use 4 cups of juice - no way it would have been too tangy. It needed more pomegranate flavor. Don't be afraid to use it all if you are using POM. Besides, you can always add sugar to sweeten it, but adding more juice would have made the sauce too thin. Also, the chicken cooked down so much, next time I will use 3-4 pounds of boneless skinless chicken thighs. Absolutely delicious and rich. What a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I thought it was easy to make and tasty, but you have to check while you are cooking that the molasses added don;t make it too tangy.I added a bit of brown sugar and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is one of my favourite dishes. I usually remove the meat from the chicken once it's cooked ... kind of like pulled pork, you just sort of shread up the chicken, then return the meat to the pot. That way there are no bones in the stew, just serve it over your rice and enjoy. Always good with a side of plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I really wanted to like this, but found the tart flavor too strong and overpowering. I wish I had followed other reviews and used half pom juice, half chicen broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Delicious. My children and husband loved it. It could not have been easier. I used a hand blender to puree the nuts which left a few larger pieces, but when the stew was done I used the hand blender directly in the pot, and it worked perfectly. I let my walnuts get a bit too brown which made the dish a darker color, but it tasted divine. This will definitely be in the rotation. I served it with rice (I like the Brazilian white rice recipe on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
First, thank you SO much for sharing this. My friend and I made this the other night, and it came out DELICIOUS! I have had fesenjan before made in my favorite restaurant and by family, but it beats both(although my aunts does come close).We only used 1/4th the pomegranate juice though, because we didn't have anymore >.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very good. Extremely tender. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
My husband liked this a lot, i found it a bit too tart myself, but it is still a very good recipe. I used a bit less pomengranate juice b/c i drank some of it :) It took about 2 hours to cook down to the consistency I wanted. I did use chicken breast b/c it is what i had but i also recommend using thighs instead, dark meat would just taste better, or better yet, make this sauce and put it on a ROASTED DUCK- the tartness would be divine with a duck. This recipe is really simple and if you are uncertain about if you will like it just cut it in half and give it a go, it does not have too much of a peculiar Middle Eastern spice flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was very easy to make and it turned out great. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States