Pomegranate Stew with Chicken (Khoresh Fesenjan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Ummm...YUM! I admit that this recipe SOUNDS a little strange, but it's really delicious! As it was cooking up and the flavors hadn't yet come together, my husband and I were still a little iffy about the whole thing, but served over rice after cooking for 1.5 hours it was really good. My *only* complaint is that it was really oily. The walnuts, I guess, caused there to be a pretty generous layer of oil floating over the whole thing. My husband used a spoon to get as much of it as he could. But, really...very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I don't understand why this is coming out so light.. I'm Persian myself and I've never had this stew this light before.. It's usually a dark brown. Any ideas on how I can make it dark?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This recipe was delicious and healthytoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Excellent Fesengan recipe! I've tried making this Persian dish before using other recipes and pomegranate paste, but this turned out much better. It's also a lot easier to find pomegranate juice than paste. My only complaint was that the sauce was runny, but that might be because I used chicken breasts. Next time I'll try cooking it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
We had high hopes for this dish which, unfortunately, were not met. Of all of the dishes on the table with this for dinner, this was the only item not only not finished but left virtually untouched. The rice, raita, palak paneer, naan & yellow daal luckily were enough for a meal despite the resounding flop of the main dish. We just wound up having an unplanned vegetarian night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Ever since I tried this dish a few weeks back, my husband and friends have been asking for the recipe. I took the advice of others and went with 3 cups of pomegranate juice (freshly juiced because we have a tree) and 1 cup of chicken broth. Also, instead of cardamom I read somewhere online that I could use cinnamon. Since I had cinnamon on hand I used that instead. I also omitted the sugar. I ground the walnuts in a blender and then added the juice, broth and cinnamon. It looked like Pepto Bismol at first but the color changed as it stewed. Also, my first batch was with chicken breast which was good during the first serving but toughened with leftovers. Second batch was with cut up chicken legs but I didn't like the bones. Next time I will have to try something boneless and add up to 2 lbs of chicken to the recipe. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I really loved this - easy and exotic. But I did make some changes and would do more tweaking if I make it again. I followed the suggestion of others to use 2 cups pomegranate juice and two cups chicken stock. I think, in the future, I'd tend towards a little bit more pom juice than chicken stock. I imagine it really depends on the juice. I didn't use the sugar. It was sweet enough. There was so much sauce, that I regretted not having added veggies. And in fact, for leftovers, I sauteed some mushrooms and carrots and threw in a handful of pearl onions. It's just begging for veggies. Also added parsley at the end. Cilantro might be nice, too. But it definitely needs some color, so add one or the other. I think it would be terrific over couscous, though we used leftover rice. And crusty bread to sop up the sauce, a must. I have a feeling this dish will become a regular meal at our house, particularly when cooler weather comes around again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was pretty good. I'm used to Indian food so even though they aren't the same I was hoping it would have had a bit more spice (flavor not chili hot). It wasn't bad though and I would probably make it again. It certainly doesn't look the prettiest, but did taste better than it looked. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Althought it didn't taste like the fesenjan I get at my favorite restaurant, the flavor of this was excellent and the sauce was incredibly rich. I will definitely make this again. After reading other reviews, I subbed chicken broth for 2 cups of the pomegranate juice. However, I used POM juice and I think it is sweeter than what other people have been using. Next time I will use 4 cups of juice - no way it would have been too tangy. It needed more pomegranate flavor. Don't be afraid to use it all if you are using POM. Besides, you can always add sugar to sweeten it, but adding more juice would have made the sauce too thin. Also, the chicken cooked down so much, next time I will use 3-4 pounds of boneless skinless chicken thighs. Absolutely delicious and rich. What a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States