Pomegranate Stew with Chicken (Khoresh Fesenjan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I substituted two cans of whole chickpeas for the chicken and it came out as a really nice vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made this last night. My sauce did turn out a nice brown color. I used chicken thighs (took the skin off). I am wondering when reading other's reviews if they did not use PURE pomegranate juice? Maybe this is why it was too sweet or an odd color!? Omitted the sugar as well. It can be confusing because in the Juice shelves of most grocery stores there will be "Pomegranate Juice 100% Juice" but it's mostly grape juice and other fruit juices! What I did is get 2 pomegranates and juice them myself, so that was time consuming to do. I had to look up a Youtube video "How to Juice a Pomegranate" Anyway, the juice was tart and gave the dish a good flavor. 2 pomegranates = 1.5 C of juice and I did use Organic chicken broth 3/4 C of that. Great suggestion from others! I added to my liking in addition to the Cardamom: 1/2 tsp of Tumeric, and I also seeded a small Serrano pepper and tossed that in whole to give the dish some heat. I liked my additions, it was super good over Indian Basmati Rice! Another reviewer suggested shredding the chicken off the bone and I did that right in the saucepan after it had been simmering for an hour or so. It was unique, very flavorful. I also made the Persian Cucumber Yogurt salad and got some store bought Wood Fired Naan flatbread to go with it. YUM. I only gave it 4 stars because the time consuming issue of the pomegranates and not finding the juice in the store, so this recipe might not be very convenient for some people to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe. Moved to a place where there weren't any Persian restaurants. I was jonesing for this. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
WOW! I had never had Fesenjan or tried making Middle Eastern cuisine before, but I was feeling adventurous and exotic. I took the advice of many reviewers and cut back on the pomegranate juice (2 cups Pom Wonderful 14oz chicken broth) and actually wish I had not. It was delicious, but seemed a little too westernized, less bold and unique than it could have been. Used boneless chicken thighs. There have only been a few times where my wife has RAVED about my cooking and this was one of those dishes. Smells great cooking, but looks a little questionable with it's brown/purple hue. Don't cut the pomegranate, go big or go home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I used chicken thighs but too fatty so will try chicken breast instead. Also could easily make this vegetarian by eliminating meat and adding different veggies like sweet potato, peas, carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Very good, will make again. Served with saffron rice and green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I really like this recipe. I had this dish in restaurants and the color was much darker. After trying this recipe I found another site online that had step by step direction with photos. I think the site was called mastering persian cooking. Anyhow I tried that recipe and it turned out darker in color the way I like it. All in all this was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This recipe was a delightful surprise. Doubled the recipe, sed boneless chicken thighs, half broth and half juice as suggested by others and served with naan bread - super flavours! Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
actually its not traditional Fesenjan,in original recipe it has oil (not olive oil)and pomegranate Rob(i can say a kind of pomegranate sauce),and we serve it in 3 taste ,sweet,sour or - sweet and sour,and using sugar is depends on your pomegranate Rob,and how much you like it sweet or sour,you can use Duck instead of chicken,it taste amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I was not pleased when my wife served this. It was way too sweet/tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States