Pomegranate Stew with Chicken (Khoresh Fesenjan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe. Moved to a place where there weren't any Persian restaurants. I was jonesing for this. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
WOW! I had never had Fesenjan or tried making Middle Eastern cuisine before, but I was feeling adventurous and exotic. I took the advice of many reviewers and cut back on the pomegranate juice (2 cups Pom Wonderful 14oz chicken broth) and actually wish I had not. It was delicious, but seemed a little too westernized, less bold and unique than it could have been. Used boneless chicken thighs. There have only been a few times where my wife has RAVED about my cooking and this was one of those dishes. Smells great cooking, but looks a little questionable with it's brown/purple hue. Don't cut the pomegranate, go big or go home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I used chicken thighs but too fatty so will try chicken breast instead. Also could easily make this vegetarian by eliminating meat and adding different veggies like sweet potato, peas, carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Very good, will make again. Served with saffron rice and green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I really like this recipe. I had this dish in restaurants and the color was much darker. After trying this recipe I found another site online that had step by step direction with photos. I think the site was called mastering persian cooking. Anyhow I tried that recipe and it turned out darker in color the way I like it. All in all this was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This recipe was a delightful surprise. Doubled the recipe, sed boneless chicken thighs, half broth and half juice as suggested by others and served with naan bread - super flavours! Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
actually its not traditional Fesenjan,in original recipe it has oil (not olive oil)and pomegranate Rob(i can say a kind of pomegranate sauce),and we serve it in 3 taste ,sweet,sour or - sweet and sour,and using sugar is depends on your pomegranate Rob,and how much you like it sweet or sour,you can use Duck instead of chicken,it taste amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I was not pleased when my wife served this. It was way too sweet/tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I had a best friend in undergrad who is Persian and this recipe was just as good as I remember it! So delicious and so very simple to make!!!! I didn't use Cardamom and it was very tasty without it! You will love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
If will become much darker and more flavorful if you use one cup of pomegranate paste instead of the pomegranate juice. I usually make this with meatballs instead of chicken. I make the meatballs in advance and add them to the stew when the walnuts leave their oil. Some people had complained that it is greasy. Yes it is, but all the oil comes out of the walnuts, you don't add any oil to the stew. We never remove the walnut oil from this stew. It tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States