Pomegranate Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
my family didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I have a pomegranate tree and have been making jelly for years.I found the beat way to juice them is by using an old fashioned ricer,turn it clockwise and it juices,turn it counter clockwise to remove the seed.Also I add cinnamon about 1 tbls. It gives it such a unique flavor,my family and ftiends ask for it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was the first jelly/jam type food I have made and it was a lot easier and forgiving than I thought. I'll be making more jellies in the future. Great gift item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I have 2 pomegranate trees and this is by far the best jelly ever. I had never used liquid pectin and before and I think its why it turns out a perfect jelly. All but FOOL proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I had to use 2 pkgs liquid pectin to get it to set really good. I also tried it with 50/50 cranberry and also raspberry. Both of the other berries were of the wild varity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Delicious, just like my mom used to make! It jelled beautifully and is crystal clear with a jewel-like appearance in the jar. Recipe filled 9 half-pint jars. I'm guessing those who had trouble with it jelling did not bring it to a full rolling boil once the pectin was added, just a guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I live in the San Joquin Valley here in California and the pomegranates are a big thing here. this is a great recipe because I use Mcp pectin or sure Jell and neither has this jelly listed on there, I use the grape recipe for it. But it is good to see a recipe for this fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I had great success with this recipe. I used one less cup of sugar, but followed the rest of the recipe pretty closely. Timing was key, and I followed my pectin packet's instructions since they can vary from brand to brand. The flavor is perfectly sweet and tart--and distinctly pomegranate. It is absolutely necessary to bring the juice, etc to a ROLLING boil before adding pectin, and then return it to a ROLLING boil for one whole minute with some brands of pectin. Do yourself a favor, and read the instruction pamphlet that comes with it. Follow the instructions suggested for berries as a rough guide. This is not a firm jelly, but with time it will set up more firmly than the day you make it. I made mine this past fall with my pom harvest, and the jelly in my jars stored in the pantry has become firmer, but it will not ever be as firm as grocery store jelly--which I like! This will definitely be a regular part of my fall harvest repertoire from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I love this recipe and have made it many different ways. The first time I made it I used two liquid pectins per previous suggestions, and reduced the sugar to 6.5 cups. It came out well but was still too sweet for me. I switched to powdered pectin, the low sugar type. I follow the package directions and add 1/4 cup sugar and pectin to the juice and lemon juice, as another reviewer noted. I bring it to a boil then add the rest of the sugar and bring that to another rolling boil. It works well and I get a good set. I have reduced the sugar to 5 cups and most recently to 3 1/2 cups. Taste great both ways but as I love the pomegranate flavor, I think I will continue to use 3 1/2 cups. I have made this with fresh pomegranate juice and POMO juice and prefer the raw juice I get at the farmers market or from my tree. The POMO juice is too mild or thin. I would consider the POMO cherry as one reviewer mentioned but think the raw juice is the best if you can find it. CT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I love pomegranate anything so I figured this looked good. I read a lot of the reviews and decided to modify a smidge. I juiced my pomegranate in my juicer rind and all.... saved so much time and came out just fine. It really separated all the rind and seeds and left only the beautiful (costly) juice. I decreased the sugar to 6 cups , used about 1/3 of a cup of bottled organic lemon juice and a pack and a half of powdered pectin. SURE Jell is the brand I used. I had no problem with it setting. It is not a super tight jelly but not liquid either and I did notice that it took a good 24 hours for it to set up well so maybe patience is the key. I gave this as gifts and have had rave reviews. They are already asking for more. So I suggest a double batch! Thanks for posting this recipe..it was easy and by far the best jelly I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Seed a Pomegranate

See the simple, mess-free way to remove the seeds from pomegranates.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States