Polynesian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Not Good, didn't care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My family loved this! We're suckers for sweet/sour flavors. I changed up a couple things because I was short on time and space in my skillet. I seared eight thick chops both sides and set them in a casserole dish, cooked up the onions with some chopped garlic cloves, then put that on top of the chops. Mixed double the soup, honey, etc, in a bowl then dumped that all over the top and baked it at 400 degrees checking every 10min til it was cooked thoroughly. Mine took a little longer because I made the mistake of trying to use half frozen chops instead of thawed! Oh well, still came out great! We made some plain rice with mixed stir fry veggies on the side and used the extra sauce from the pan as a nice drizzle. Next time though, I would probably use less water! It seemed to be very runny, less saucy than I wanted it. :) Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawlly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Yummy! Read many of the reviews that said this was bland, & a couple said they expected more of a sweet & sour flavor. This is NOT like the typical "sweet & sour pork" recipe, the sweet/sour flavors are very mild & IMO very delicious. I used the exact ingredients/amounts stated, the pineapple chunks I used were "in 100% pineapple juice" & along with clover honey it had a lovely hint of sweet/sour flavor. My soy sauce was regular Kikkoman & I did not find it too salty as some said, I hate too much salty flavor & I thought this recipe was spot on (& what's up with someone saying the salt flavor was too much because the pork is already salty....what kind of pork are they using that's already salty?) The sauce is a bit on the thin side so if you prefer a more gravy-like sauce I'd suggest omitting the water. I personally prefer a more tender pork chop that can be cut with a fork, so I went ahead & simmered for perhaps 25-30 minutes longer than the recipe states which also made my sauce thicker. I would give this recipe 4 1/2 stars for flavor, but bumped it up to 5 stars because it's so incredibly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was delicious! We added the rice at the end to soak up the sauce and it tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Good flavors. Although I expected more of the pineapple flavor to come through. Next time, I'll add more. Did not taste like sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This recipe is excellent! I didnt change a thing. I've made it three times now and every time it tastes delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
It was just "okay". Quite bland, was missing something, but not sure what. Maybe some green pepper and/or vinegar? I actually don't think that would have been enough to perk this up. I was expecting more of a sweet-n-sour flavor, but it didn't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These pork chops are amazing. I make them for company and always get the best compliments. A good mix of flavors with a tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Good, fast meal. A tasty alternative to the pork would be chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amydawn319
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious recipe! I was looking for a fresh way to cook pork chops, and this definitely exceeded my expectations. I added some red pepper flakes to the sauce to balance the sweetness of the pineapple, and it turned out AMAZING. Instead of rice, I made couscous flavored with garlic, onion, and green pepper. The combination of flavors and textures made it seem like a gourmet meal from a restaurant. It looks and tastes like it was a lot of work to prepare, but it was incredibly simple. I will definitely keep this one in the front of my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ponca, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States