Polvorones de Canele (Cinnamon Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I can't wait to have these with coffee tomorrow morning! I needed to add about 1/4-1/2 cup more flour to the dough (and even then the dough was still very sticky and soft), but the cookies turned out great! Tastes like pie crust infused with cinnamon. Very crumbly, too, but I think that's how they're supposed to be (or that's how they are straight out of the oven - I couldn't wait to try them!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
For a churro-like topping, substitute the confectioner's sugar for granulated sugar for the cinnamon mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I made these cookies exactly as the recipe stated and found the dough to be very sticky rather than stiff as the recipe said it would be. Once baked the cookies fell apart and tasted like eating a stick of butter. Several people at the party I brought these too also tried them and agreed. I was very disappointed as I usually have success with well-rated recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I made these for a Cindo de mayo get together & while they weren't a hit (too much other food to choose from), they did have a really good flavor. My only complaint is that they crumbled easily. I got almost 3 dozen small cookies out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I brought these in to work for Cinco de Mayo. One of my coworkers, who *never* gives out compliments, said three in a row and then asked me if I'd make some more! These were easy to make and didn't require any special ingredients. I agree with an earlier comment that their taste improves when they cool. Another one of my coworkers, who originates from Mexico, couldn't help but correct the title though... according to him, it should be "canela". Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
So yummy! Definitely a crumbly, dry cookie but if that's what you're in the mood for, this is the best recipe out there! I think I've found my new favorite cookie! The recipe is super easy to follow and I didn't need to make any adjustments, except for adding a bit more flour so the dough wouldn't be so sticky. I also baked them for 10 mins and checked on them every 2, and they were done in about 14. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riskie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
these were soooo very good. My son's Spanish Teacher loved them. I made some changes on the 2nd batch just for my own taste...1 1/2 tsp cinnamon. when doubling the recipe add 1/3 cup more flour and 1/2 tsp more vanilla. I also added 2 Tblsp granulated sugar to the confectioners sugar before rolling cookies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very nice little cookies. They are crunchy yet soft and crumbly all at the same time. Not a very sweet cookie; so if you have a sweet tooth, this might not satisfy it. I don't have much of one, so these are nice for me. I got 21 cookies out of the dough, so this batter does not make that many at all. I used my small cookie scoop, though, so if you make much smaller cookies you'd get more. Very easy, just takes a bit of time to dip in the sugar/cinnamon mixture and bake. I didn't use the amount of sugar and cinnamon called for dipping; that would have been way too much. I used about a 1/4 c of sugar and maybe 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and I had only a small amount left over. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
They really do melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Awesome cookies. They melt in your mouth, and taste like cinnamon munchkins... but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States