Polvorones de Canele (Cinnamon Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These are sooo good! They just melt in your mouth. I added a little extra cinnamon to the dough, and had to use another 1/2c flour to get the dough firm enough to roll. Also used 3T powdered sugar and 1tsp cinnamon for the topping, and still had a little bit left over. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I love these cookies! The only change I made was to increase the cinnamon in the cookie to 1 tsp. I decided to do half the batch rolled in the powdered sugar/cinnamon mixture and the other half rolled in sesame seeds (thanks to oz's comments) and it made for two pretty different, outstanding cookies. I love sesame so I liked the sesame ones a lot, but most of the people I had try them preferred the ones without the sesame seeds. Although my husband thought they were "dry", I don't require all of my cookies to be chewy and gooey, so I loved the texture. The "melt in your mouth" description in some of the comments is completely accurate. A lovely, light cookie, made with just a few ingredients that I generally have on hand. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I had to add an extra 1/2 cup of flour to roll these in balls. But very good. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I love these cookies! The only thing I had to change was to add a bit more flour so I could roll them in balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These were just ok to me. They needed a lot more cinnamon flavor and the texture was strange. Another user stated it best-like sand crumbling and melting on your tongue. If you are looking for a savory, chewy cookie then keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
For those of you (such as me) that haven't had "Polvorones de Canele" before, they are like a tasty cross between shortbread and snickerdoodles. Next time, I'm definately doubling the recipe as it doesn't make many and I'm using more cinnamon (1.5 tsp)in the batter for more flavor. As another reviewer suggested, definately watch the cooking time closely. In my oven, it only takes 12 minutes to perfect doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
One of my new favorite cookies! Soooo easy to make, and the batter is so tasty I almost hate baking it. I add more cinnamon and some nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batesville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Sorry, but this cookie wasn't what I expected at all. It's very buttery, I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
My husband needed a dessert for the Mexican bar at work but one co-worker is deathly allergic to nuts so we tried these. They were gone in a flash. I didn't care for them but I don't care much for cinnamon and thought they were greasy but I didn't have to eat more than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
These are fantastic... My spanish class was having a fiesta so i thought i would try these. My class and friends devoured them!!! I'm about to make more because my friends won't stop bugging me about them! I def recomend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States