Pol's Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
Excellent recipe! Big hit at work. Used sugar in the raw and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
when I look for recipes I usually go for the ones that have the highest ratings. I wanted to give this a try and was glad I did. I tasted it before the sauce & it tasted great. Even better with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Awesome, moist cake. I used heavy cream instead of milk and a little vanilla in the sauce. Very rich and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This cake is absolutely delish! So moist, it's unbelievable. I didn't have any vegetable oil so I used olive oil instead, I know it sounds wierd, but I think the olive oil added to the moistness of the cake and made it that much better. I'll have to try it next time with veg. oil. Everyone loved it, I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong but the cake was not moist at all and we did not care for the taste either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This cake was not very good-it came out DRY and VERY crumbly. I would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This cake is the best apple cake I have ever had. If it came out dry and crumbly I think you might want to try again, you may have made a mistake somewhere. I added a Tsp of Vanilla, 2 Tsp's of cinnamon, and a 1/4 Tsp of nutmeg. After the cake came out of the oven I poked holes in it using a toothpick and then poured a mixture of brown sugar and butter over it. I didn't do the topping in the recipe but I imagine it would be equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
A lot of reviewers have complained that this is dry and crumbly - here are some suggestions. First, you might want to omit the coconut which can gave a dry "finish" to a cake. Also, please check that your self-raising flour is very fresh and lastly do not overbake. These are the steps that I followed and it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This cake is absolutely wonderful. I made this cake a few days ago and unfortunately I dropped it on the floor as I was taking it out of the oven, so I was not able to make the topping or even taste the cake(even though my kids ate the parts that was still in the pan and raved over it.) But I made it again tonight following some of the additions from previous reviews. I followed the review that suggested using heavy cream and vanilla in the topping, which was fantastic. However I also mixed my apple pieces with 1/2 cup of brown sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon then let them sit while I prepared the cake mix. I only added 1/2 cup of coconut because I was concerned that the cake would come out dry and crumbly as stated by another review...oh and I substituted pecans for the walnuts and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to my batter. At any rate I was more than thoroughly pleased with the results. The cake is very rich and moist, and because I love warm cake I poured the topping on while it was warm and tasted a piece..FANTABULOUS! The only thing I would say otherwise is that maybe my apples were too big,the recipe calls for two apples and I felt that maybe I could have used one, but my fiancee' who loves apples disagrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was a hit at a family gathering! And I don't cook! It made me look like I was hiding my secret cooking skills from my husband! That was the only bad thing about this recipe!! And I kinda curddled the sauce so my quick fix was to sprinkle brown sugar on top! They didn't even know the difference! Thanks for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States