Polly Welby's Excellent Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Great easy recipe, reading many of the reviews I did a few things. I did half milk chocolate half dark (60%) chocolate chips added a couple of teaspoons of cream and some rum to the melted chocolate. Julia I added gelatin, I can see why and most likely will next time. I also put about 3 teaspoons sugar in whip cream and added whip cream to the chocolate, used a whip to blend gently. Since my husband didn’t want the mouse when it was ready with many comments about when refrigerated it got hard I put mousse into a ready-made chocolate pie crust (less one serving I ate!) and topped with whip cream. Really easy, fast, if you are a chocoholic – this is definitely for you. Follow up - the next day – the mouse did not get hard like several reviewers experienced, made a soft mouse pie – must have been the couple of teaspoons of cream I put in the melted chocolate. When adding the cream in the melted chocolate the texture did not stay smooth and I got a little concerned. However as I added the softly whipped cream everything smoothed out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I could have eatin this by the spoon full!!! I needed something quick I was frosting my husbands Birthday cake and ran out of frosting lol just my luck! I did melt my chocolate in the microwave and let it cool before i folded it in my whipped cream sooooooo tasty! I will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I use this mousse as a cake and cupcake filling. It is so easy and so delicious! I add the chocolate to the whipped cream and then continue to mix with the mixer. I could never get it smooth when mixing by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
so yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Easy tip: Add some heavy cream to the chocolate while it's melting and use a whisk to blend it together. Then, place the melted chocolate/cream mixture in the refrigerator for a few minutes, stir and return to fridge for a few more minutes and then remove and stir again. Next, spoon a little of this into the whipped cream and use an electric mixer to blend together. Repeat until all chocolate is blended into whipped cream. No chunks this way. Now, I added a packet of unflavored gelatin to the melting chocolate to make the texture more "mousse-like" and less like pudding. I also added a little rum extract to the chocolate for a more authentic flavor. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I actually guessed at how much of each to put in but I also used some cream cheese.. The consistency and taste was amazing!!! I loved it I will be making it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
fold cream into a little colled down chocolate so not lumpy. super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
What an easy recipe!! I took the advice of another reviewer and folded the cream into the chocolate. I also added bit of vanilla extract and icing sugar to the cream while I whipped it. It turned out beautiful with whipped cream, a sliced strawberry and sprig of mint on top. Extremely rich, but oh so delicious!! I can't wait for my friend to try it tonight. Ok as an addendum to my original rating. I've just checked it in the fridge and yes, like other reviews....it is way more solid than mousse should be. Darn it. I'm sure it'll taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great Mousse....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I added black raspberry liquier and it added a nice flavor. Next time I will use a different chocolate. I thought it was to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States