Pollo Oaxaca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I am the recipe submitter and would like to point out that the original way it was written called for grated Oaxacan cheese. If it's unavailable in your part of the country, Monterey Jack is a reasonable substitute. I hope you enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I’m unsure why this recipe is getting such good reviews. I used to live in Mexico and this recipe isn’t really authentic at all plus it is very bland. After making it once exactly as written, I made it a 2nd time with the following changes: - Substitute jalapeno pepper for Serrano, and use 3-4 serrano peppers. -Boil raw, bone in chicken breasts with just enough water to cover chicken, a tsp of chicken bouillon per cup of water, few garlic cloves minced, ½ onion -Once chicken is no longer pink, take out of broth and set aside. Meanwhile - - Sautee tomatillos, Serrano peppers, 3 garlic cloves, ½ medium onion in pan with 1/3-1/4 cup chicken broth you have from cooking your chicken. After the tomatoes have turned slightly brown on all sides, puree in blender with 1 tsp of oregano. Once sauce is pureed to the consistency you like, take chicken off bone and spoon sauce over chicken. Since the chicken broth will be salty from the boullion, I let each person salt according to their own taste. I like to top with cilantro, queso fresco, lettuce, and a bit of lime juice. I eat it with fresh corn tortillas so it is almost more like enchiladas but it tastes much better than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is yet another Terrific chicken dish that can be made fast and inexpensively. The cilantro is so fresh tasting and the tartness from the tomatillos is a great flavor combo. Pinto beans. Mexican rice completed dinner. Avon congrats on a winner winner chicken dinner! Thank you so much:) much love to You, Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Soo very good!! I couldn't find Oaxacan cheese, so had to use Jack, maybe added a touch more garlic. Will make many times! Thanks Avon. Looking forward to leftovers. Delicious!!! UPDATE! I have since found Oaxacan cheese at our little Mexican market. I like it better than the Jack if you can find it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is AWESOME!! I love this mole. I have never tried a green mole but it was delicious and the combination of the cooked and raw mole were such great compliments to each other ! I also left the seeds from the jalapenos in for a little extra kick. Thanks for sharing this recipe, its going to become a new regular recipe here. Just wanted to add another note, I used my left over to make enchiladas and they were awesome! I shredded the chicken and kept the cooked sauce with the shredded chicken. Filled the tortillas with the mixture, topped them with the raw mole and then cheese and baked them! Ahhh Heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I have had this recipe since Avon first shared it, just waiting until I was able to get fresh tomatillo and Oaxacan cheese at the same time. I finally succeeded and we enjoyed this yesterday. I used bone in breasts and thighs. I love how the salsa changes subly between cooked and uncooked. Great recipe, Avon, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was a pleasant surprise for me. I really don't enjoy chicken in Mexican food but I decided to jump in and try this even if the Hubs was the only one to eat it. I have never worked with tomatillos before but have a Hispanic produce stand readily available and they weren't too hard to come by. Too bad they don't carry the cheese because I absolutely could not find the Oaxacan Cheese. Anyway I loved this dish! The best part of it is the contrast between the cooked and fresh verde mole. I used a shredded Mexican blend cheese and halved the recipe with 3 chicken tenderloins. There was more than enough verde mole for that much chicken and probably will be enjoyed on chips. Hubs said it is a keeper! Thanks Avon for the recipe and for opening my eyes to what I might have missed out on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Man, I hate to rain on a parade, but DH and I both thought this dish to be quite bland. But the leftovers, mixed with refried beans and rice (that I served with dinner) made a pretty tasty burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Followed the recipe to the T and it was perfect as is. I knew my blender was going on me and it finally petered out on this recipe but thankfully bigger chunks don't bother us at all. This was the first recipe I used with the tomatillos from my garden (the ONLY thing that has survived this heat in my garden) and I couldn't be more pleased. Thanks Avon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
well Avon you never disappoint. The dish was very tasty, did I sub, well of course. I can't find tomatillos so I read that a sub would be salsa verde (that was still Greek to me) so I found a recipe on here, Mexican salsa verde and I had all the ingredients. I used celery in place of cilantro-sorry had to-and I served it with ww pasta topped with salsa, avacado, some of the sauce from the chicken, black olives and bit of shredded cheese. So good. I wanted more but had to leave the kitchen. Good thing I took pics so I could hop on the computer to review this and refrain from seconds. Will make again, Gitano says I should be able to find canned tomatillos, I might try that but the fresh sub was good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States