Pollo con Nopales (Chicken and Cactus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
made with chicken breast chunks, did not shred, added black beans with the cactus and some onion, cumin and a dash of chicken boullion, put on tortillas and used tomatillo salsa as a topping with some grated cheese, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Not enough flavor for me. Definitely needed salt. I used fresh nopales (grown on our property) and they made the mixture pretty slimy. My Mexican husband told me when it was too late that I should have chopped them before boiling and the boiling would take the sliminess out. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Very good flavor! We used bell peppers instead of nopales and added one white onion and a bit of chicken broth, served over white rice and/or in corn tortillas. Everyone loved it! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Good & easy recipe. As So. California residents my mother grows cactus aka Nopales in her yard & she harvests this "green meat" throughout the year. As kids we grew up on it. Thanks for sharing with my additions it was a hearty meal that got rave reviews. I served it corn tortillas, a side of rice and limes. My edits: I added tablespoon of chicken bouillon, garlic and a big chunky onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLACASandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I understand that this is "con Nopales" but after having it, I can't say that the cactus was really worth the mess and effort. I think a better substitute for the flavors in this would just be green peppers/pepper medley. Otherwise, a fantastic recipe. I added some garlic powder, a bunch of fresh cilantro, and a 1/4 onion to the green sauce and the flavor was phenomenal. Will definitely make it again with the above adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Not bad. I used pre-cooked, packaged chicken slices, and added a dash of garlic powder, 2 tbsp lime juice, and 2 tbsp of dried cilantro leaves. I didn't shred my chicken, just a personal preference. Thanks, Chef Kiki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Very good! I also used additional tomatillos and only used 1 jalapeno since I have a tendency to make things too hot for most tastes. I added about 1/4 C chicken broth and 1/4 t ground cumin. Serverd on tortillas with mex blend cheese and something new, Rosa Rita green salsa verde, which had just the right kick. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is really simple and tasty. I've made it twice now and the second time around I used 4 tomatillos and when I blended the tomatillos and jalapenos I added a little chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States