Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I have been making Fricassee this way for years and it is wonderful. The only difference is that I use white wine, a couple tablespoons of olives with their brine (about 8 olives), and an 8 oz can of tomato sauce or occassionally toss in a can of Rotel or other similar tomato and chile product. Hey, my grandmother makes it with white wine and tomato sauce so that's how I learned to make it many years ago, but this way is good too. Otherwise the measurements of ingredients are identical to what I have always used. Not only is it wonderful made in the crock-pot, but on the stove top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
My boyfriend and I got a place of our own over two years ago and never really had company over for dinner till the other night. I made this dish and everyone really enjoyed it. It was easy to make and I didn't have to worry about wether or not I was going to burn it or if it was going to be ready to eat when we all sat down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
The chicken was very moist but overall I found the dish to be very bland. The spice just seemed to one dimentional for me. My wife liked it though and thats why I am giving it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceana, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This is a delicious, authentic Puerto Rican dish. The recipe uses fresh ingredients and native spices. My husband is Puerto Rican and LOVES this dish. It is FAR from bland (didn't quite understand that review). This is as authentic as it gets! I needed two pounds of chicken drumsticks, so I just doubled the Adobo and used an entire packet of Sazon. It was fantastic! I have never been able to cook Puerto Rican food like my husband does, due to the fact that most of their cooking is done by taste, not measurements (and I could never quite master that way of cooking, LOL). So thank you very much for posting a recipe that us "non-natives" can make!!! Delish!!!! 8-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I was expecting shazam! and it was boring and bland-- a lot of work for not much taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
way too much cilantro, threw it all out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was good and very tasty. I think next time I will add more chicken. There was alot of sauce for only a little chicken. Very good base and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONMYST17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Great ficase de pollo. I make it on the stovetop and sometimes add thinly sliced carrots. I add more chicken and keep on tasting it to make sure it ends up con mucho sabor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This recipe is right on. Reminded me of my mom's recipe. My only changes were: 1) added 1/2 can (4 ounces of tomato sauce) 2)used sofrito (check out recipe on this site and omit the tomatoes, salt, and pepper) in place of the cilantro, peppers, onions, and garlic. I thought the it was very flavorful but although my husband liked it a lot, he felt it lacked a bit of salt. So, for those who think it is bland, just adjust the salt/sazon/adobo to your taste because this recipe is a definate keeper! By the way, I made this awesome recipe in the slow cooker and also in a pressure cooker and got awesome results all the time. My 6 year old daughter is amazed by the fact that the meat literally fell off the bone and left it dry. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was AMAZING!!!!!!! I skipped the green bell peppers because I think they're gross cooked and just used red and yellow, otherwise I followed the directions and this was a hit from the minute it started cooking. I don't have a slow cooker so I did it in the oven at 350 for 90 minutes. My kitchen smelled SO GOOD and the food didn't disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States