Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
YUM! This was awesome. Used 2 bags of Morningstar Veggie Chicken strips in place of the chicken and it turned out marvelous!!! Paired it with rice and Habichuelas Guisadas. Shared some with one my students and she demanded the recipe instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Recipe was OK. There was a lot of liquid after the cooking was done, but altogether, was somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
The chicken was awesome. Make sure and keep the slow cooker on low, I didn't and it fell apart too much. I also added a bit more liquid to the blender because the sauce was very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Lacked flavor. Definitely needs some salt. Also, I like slow-cooker recipes I can throw together before work and then go. This one requires quite a bit of preparation. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was very tasty, but to me, too greasy. I would like to try it again but with boneless/skinless breasts. I think I'm just not used to cooking with dark meat with skin. The flavor was fantastic, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Mine came out pretty good. I didn't have the wine and I really would like to have tried it with the wine. It was a different flavor than I am used to but I am used to more traditional American foods. However, I really enjoyed this dish and would make it again, but my boyfriend (who is kind of picky) tried it and said that "it really wasn't his thing"...so that must mean it didn't taste "bad" but just "different" than what I usually make for dinner. I would use this particular recipe if I were to make it again. I made no changes besides that of the red wine, and I used chicken breasts. Also, I used some of the leftover sauce as a base for a black bean soup, and that was really delicious! (I added black beans, yellow corn, chopped bell peppers, chopped tomatoes, and a little bit of vegetable broth until the soup was the consistency I wanted)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I would add another packet of sazon and more salt. I would also think about adding some chili powder, tomato paste and a can of diced tomatoes. It needed just a little more flavor. Otherwise it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
DELICIOSO! I will be making this recipe this Saturday for a dinner party I am having...I know I will be a hit. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lethi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Great recipie. Very easy to make I didn't cook it in a slow cooker. I followed the recipe but I added white wine instead of red and some frozen peas and it was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This recipe is great! I used a previous posters suggestion and used the frozen sofrito and the beer instead of the puree and the wine and my family loved it! The only other thing I added was some hot pepper for spice. This will certainly be added to regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States