Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
VERY GOOD! I used Sofrito & cut prep time in half. I also used a dark beer instaed of wine & added some garbanzo beans :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinantony
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was soooooooo good! I used a little bit more chicken (it was a pack of leg quarters but then I skinned it and removed all the ick so I'd say maybe about 2 and a half pounds were used) and there was enough sofrito without adding more liquid to cover the potatoes and chicken. Very authentic taste. Can't wait to make it again just to smell the fresh sofrito in my blender :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
How many ways can you say AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Great flavor, and pretty easy (though time-consuming) to make. Tip: - Cook in dutch oven for 3 hrs on low heat instead of using a slow cooker - reduce the liquid. I used the amount specified in the recipe for 1.8 lb chicken (even though recipe calls for 1 lb), and still ended up w/ way too much sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
It was was way too much a potato fest without additional chicken; so I added 4 thighs. Otherwise, I made it exactly as written. By the time this dish was finished cooking though, it was way overcooked. The potatoes were mushy and falling apart and the chicken wasn't very tasty (or appealing) either. If I were to ever make it again, I'd do it on the stovetop, rather than rely on the prescribed time in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I loved this and will be making it again. I did add fresh baby carrots and I used white wine instead of red, and I didn't have any red potatoes, so I used 1 can of diced potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYNC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe, JUST WAY TO SALTY FOR MY FAMILY. Very good sauce, now that I know I will cut the salt as much as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Very bland recipe. Followed recipe exactly with my only exception being not using a red pepper (used just the green one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie McComb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
YUM! This was awesome. Used 2 bags of Morningstar Veggie Chicken strips in place of the chicken and it turned out marvelous!!! Paired it with rice and Habichuelas Guisadas. Shared some with one my students and she demanded the recipe instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Recipe was OK. There was a lot of liquid after the cooking was done, but altogether, was somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States