Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
First, Fact; half the human population taste's cilantro as the taste of soap! If you've never delved into the world of cilantro, i suggest you snip and eat a leaf off a bunch at the grocery first. Cilantro comes from the Coriander plant. You can try Parsley or Italian Parsley as a substitute. I'm one of those in between as I taste some of the soapy taste but I tolerate it well. Anyway, I made it and I believe it to be a good recipe. Very healthy too. But I don't see why some rate it as difficult to prepare! All the veggys are rough cut and made in two batches in the blender or processor. I used Paul Masson White Zinfidel wine. Let me suggest substituting yucca for the potatoes! I will use the yucca next time I make it. My wife is New-Rican (I'm Scot/Irish) and says her mother (born /raised in Puerto Rico) added tomato paste and she wants it served with white rice. In summary, Bravo, great contribution to our community!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Finally, the real deal! Thank you for posting. I have had many variations (a few with crazy ingredient twists), but I know this to be the correct and most authentic Chicken Fricassee of Puerto Rico. Great job and "Buen Provecho!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was an "ok" meal for my family. I don't know if it was just me, but this tasted like everything else done in the crop pot. Sorry, this was not a good seller at my house. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Made this after Seeing all the Good Reviews, Made it Exactly Like Recipe Says & Came Out Disgusting . .. Wont Be Making that Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifuh
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
easy to make recipe, its full of flavor and is something very different from what I would usually prepare. My boyfriend enjoyed this so much he asked for the recipe ;]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This recipe was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
this was delicous! My boyfriend is a tuff critic and dosnt always like some of the best rated dishes I try. He LOVED this dish and I had to agree it is full of flavor and reminded me of my puerto rican moms cooking.I added extra minced garlic but otherwise followed recipie to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Probably the best recipe of this type I've ever made. And I didn't do the puree thing, either. Just added all the ingredients (frozen cilantro cubes instead of the real thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This dish took a while to prepare but was definitely worth it. Everyone in the family loved it and the house smelled amazing while it was cooking. Will definitely make this one again - would love to get a larger pot to make even a bigger portion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States