Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This recipe was very good, and my husband and I both loved it. It was a bit spicy for my kids, who are 3 and 5, but that could be because of my one major substitution. I used one chipotle pepper and about a teaspoon of adobo sauce instead of the adobo and sazon seasonings. The sauce was still delicious, though, in my opinion, and the chicken was just falling off the bone- so tender and yummy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Wow! This recipe has been a hit with the entire family. I've been making it once a week for a while & it's a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was pretty good, it smelled great while cooking. I didn't add the peppers for personal tastes, but my hubby (he is Puerto Rican) said is tasted authentic. But the chicken dried out in reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was AMAZING!!!!!!! I skipped the green bell peppers because I think they're gross cooked and just used red and yellow, otherwise I followed the directions and this was a hit from the minute it started cooking. I don't have a slow cooker so I did it in the oven at 350 for 90 minutes. My kitchen smelled SO GOOD and the food didn't disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This recipe is right on. Reminded me of my mom's recipe. My only changes were: 1) added 1/2 can (4 ounces of tomato sauce) 2)used sofrito (check out recipe on this site and omit the tomatoes, salt, and pepper) in place of the cilantro, peppers, onions, and garlic. I thought the it was very flavorful but although my husband liked it a lot, he felt it lacked a bit of salt. So, for those who think it is bland, just adjust the salt/sazon/adobo to your taste because this recipe is a definate keeper! By the way, I made this awesome recipe in the slow cooker and also in a pressure cooker and got awesome results all the time. My 6 year old daughter is amazed by the fact that the meat literally fell off the bone and left it dry. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Great ficase de pollo. I make it on the stovetop and sometimes add thinly sliced carrots. I add more chicken and keep on tasting it to make sure it ends up con mucho sabor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was good and very tasty. I think next time I will add more chicken. There was alot of sauce for only a little chicken. Very good base and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONMYST17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
way too much cilantro, threw it all out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I was expecting shazam! and it was boring and bland-- a lot of work for not much taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This is a delicious, authentic Puerto Rican dish. The recipe uses fresh ingredients and native spices. My husband is Puerto Rican and LOVES this dish. It is FAR from bland (didn't quite understand that review). This is as authentic as it gets! I needed two pounds of chicken drumsticks, so I just doubled the Adobo and used an entire packet of Sazon. It was fantastic! I have never been able to cook Puerto Rican food like my husband does, due to the fact that most of their cooking is done by taste, not measurements (and I could never quite master that way of cooking, LOL). So thank you very much for posting a recipe that us "non-natives" can make!!! Delish!!!! 8-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States