Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by pattyowen
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
The smell of this dish simmering all day in the slow cooker is making all of our mouths water. My children have been in the kitchen to check on it a hundred times, and they say they know it will be good because of the smell and color. I only used one potato, (red, skin on, cut small) because I want to make Spanish Rice and tortillas with it. I used white wine because that's what I had on hand. I've tasted the juices (it's still cooking) and so far it's wonderful. I would definately serve this for company for an informal gathering. Thanks so much for this recipe, it's definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I don't know about this recipe being authentic---I just know it was DELICIOUS! I did---don't we all---stray a bit from the recipe. I had a package of boneless chicken breasts and thighs I used instead of legs and used most each of red, green, and yellow peppers. I haven't had a crockpot since the my lid got melted (long story). But I popped it all into my blue enamel roasting pan that has NEVER produced anything NOT yummy and into the oven at 300 for about 5 hours. Anyhow, the smells in the kitchen within an hour---the alluring aromas of garlic and cilantro and onion...mmmm.... I did sample the sauce before I turned it over the chicken, and it was sooo good! I could probably have just ate it then on some chips. Oh---and I used fresh oregano. I didn't use red potatoes but one thinly sliced Idaho. I served it all with Saffron rice and a salad I made of the leftover bell peppers, some fresh jalepeno pepper, red onion, cilantro, rinced black beans and roasted corn. I dressed it with a lime juice and garlic-olive oil dressing. It lacked something---maybe a dash of vinegar? It needed another layer of flavor, but mixed with the Pollo and rice---magnifico! The chicken was so tender and sweet, the sauce---and there was plenty of it---was to die for, so complex and flavorful, but with a summer-y freshness thanks to the tang of the cilantro. This recipe will definitely see my roasting pan again!!!!! Thank you! (Oh, and I can't believe it, but I found the sazon season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
We thought it was great! I saved the leftover "gravy" and ate that as a delicious soup for lunch the next day! This was a great way to get my kids to eat their veggies without knowing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomom1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This recipe was very good, and my husband and I both loved it. It was a bit spicy for my kids, who are 3 and 5, but that could be because of my one major substitution. I used one chipotle pepper and about a teaspoon of adobo sauce instead of the adobo and sazon seasonings. The sauce was still delicious, though, in my opinion, and the chicken was just falling off the bone- so tender and yummy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Wow! This recipe has been a hit with the entire family. I've been making it once a week for a while & it's a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was pretty good, it smelled great while cooking. I didn't add the peppers for personal tastes, but my hubby (he is Puerto Rican) said is tasted authentic. But the chicken dried out in reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was AMAZING!!!!!!! I skipped the green bell peppers because I think they're gross cooked and just used red and yellow, otherwise I followed the directions and this was a hit from the minute it started cooking. I don't have a slow cooker so I did it in the oven at 350 for 90 minutes. My kitchen smelled SO GOOD and the food didn't disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This recipe is right on. Reminded me of my mom's recipe. My only changes were: 1) added 1/2 can (4 ounces of tomato sauce) 2)used sofrito (check out recipe on this site and omit the tomatoes, salt, and pepper) in place of the cilantro, peppers, onions, and garlic. I thought the it was very flavorful but although my husband liked it a lot, he felt it lacked a bit of salt. So, for those who think it is bland, just adjust the salt/sazon/adobo to your taste because this recipe is a definate keeper! By the way, I made this awesome recipe in the slow cooker and also in a pressure cooker and got awesome results all the time. My 6 year old daughter is amazed by the fact that the meat literally fell off the bone and left it dry. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Great ficase de pollo. I make it on the stovetop and sometimes add thinly sliced carrots. I add more chicken and keep on tasting it to make sure it ends up con mucho sabor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was good and very tasty. I think next time I will add more chicken. There was alot of sauce for only a little chicken. Very good base and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONMYST17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States