Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was good, I did play around with the spices a bit to get it just right, but this was a good base. Next time I will make sure to cut my potato slices thicker, as by the time this was done cooking, the potatoes had mostly all turned to a mushy sauce. This didn't affect the taste at all, just the presentation. Taste was very good. Next time I might try with a can of diced tomatoes as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This is a delicious, authentic Puerto Rican dish. The recipe uses fresh ingredients and native spices. My husband is Puerto Rican and LOVES this dish. It is FAR from bland (didn't quite understand that review). This is as authentic as it gets! I needed two pounds of chicken drumsticks, so I just doubled the Adobo and used an entire packet of Sazon. It was fantastic! I have never been able to cook Puerto Rican food like my husband does, due to the fact that most of their cooking is done by taste, not measurements (and I could never quite master that way of cooking, LOL). So thank you very much for posting a recipe that us "non-natives" can make!!! Delish!!!! 8-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I have been making Fricassee this way for years and it is wonderful. The only difference is that I use white wine, a couple tablespoons of olives with their brine (about 8 olives), and an 8 oz can of tomato sauce or occassionally toss in a can of Rotel or other similar tomato and chile product. Hey, my grandmother makes it with white wine and tomato sauce so that's how I learned to make it many years ago, but this way is good too. Otherwise the measurements of ingredients are identical to what I have always used. Not only is it wonderful made in the crock-pot, but on the stove top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
My boyfriend and I got a place of our own over two years ago and never really had company over for dinner till the other night. I made this dish and everyone really enjoyed it. It was easy to make and I didn't have to worry about wether or not I was going to burn it or if it was going to be ready to eat when we all sat down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Great ficase de pollo. I make it on the stovetop and sometimes add thinly sliced carrots. I add more chicken and keep on tasting it to make sure it ends up con mucho sabor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This recipe is right on. Reminded me of my mom's recipe. My only changes were: 1) added 1/2 can (4 ounces of tomato sauce) 2)used sofrito (check out recipe on this site and omit the tomatoes, salt, and pepper) in place of the cilantro, peppers, onions, and garlic. I thought the it was very flavorful but although my husband liked it a lot, he felt it lacked a bit of salt. So, for those who think it is bland, just adjust the salt/sazon/adobo to your taste because this recipe is a definate keeper! By the way, I made this awesome recipe in the slow cooker and also in a pressure cooker and got awesome results all the time. My 6 year old daughter is amazed by the fact that the meat literally fell off the bone and left it dry. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was AMAZING!!!!!!! I skipped the green bell peppers because I think they're gross cooked and just used red and yellow, otherwise I followed the directions and this was a hit from the minute it started cooking. I don't have a slow cooker so I did it in the oven at 350 for 90 minutes. My kitchen smelled SO GOOD and the food didn't disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
We thought it was great! I saved the leftover "gravy" and ate that as a delicious soup for lunch the next day! This was a great way to get my kids to eat their veggies without knowing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomom1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I don't know about this recipe being authentic---I just know it was DELICIOUS! I did---don't we all---stray a bit from the recipe. I had a package of boneless chicken breasts and thighs I used instead of legs and used most each of red, green, and yellow peppers. I haven't had a crockpot since the my lid got melted (long story). But I popped it all into my blue enamel roasting pan that has NEVER produced anything NOT yummy and into the oven at 300 for about 5 hours. Anyhow, the smells in the kitchen within an hour---the alluring aromas of garlic and cilantro and onion...mmmm.... I did sample the sauce before I turned it over the chicken, and it was sooo good! I could probably have just ate it then on some chips. Oh---and I used fresh oregano. I didn't use red potatoes but one thinly sliced Idaho. I served it all with Saffron rice and a salad I made of the leftover bell peppers, some fresh jalepeno pepper, red onion, cilantro, rinced black beans and roasted corn. I dressed it with a lime juice and garlic-olive oil dressing. It lacked something---maybe a dash of vinegar? It needed another layer of flavor, but mixed with the Pollo and rice---magnifico! The chicken was so tender and sweet, the sauce---and there was plenty of it---was to die for, so complex and flavorful, but with a summer-y freshness thanks to the tang of the cilantro. This recipe will definitely see my roasting pan again!!!!! Thank you! (Oh, and I can't believe it, but I found the sazon season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pattyowen
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
The smell of this dish simmering all day in the slow cooker is making all of our mouths water. My children have been in the kitchen to check on it a hundred times, and they say they know it will be good because of the smell and color. I only used one potato, (red, skin on, cut small) because I want to make Spanish Rice and tortillas with it. I used white wine because that's what I had on hand. I've tasted the juices (it's still cooking) and so far it's wonderful. I would definately serve this for company for an informal gathering. Thanks so much for this recipe, it's definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States