Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I thought this was great! Next time I make it I think I will follow the other reviews suggestion to add a can of tomatoes. Also I topped it with some cilantto. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Wow !!! So yummy! The chicken fell off the bone and was mouth watering good! Very easy to make too! I used sofrito like some others had suggested and added chicken stock to cover. Next time I will add carrots and some beans.Thanks for the great recipe !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
WOW! I used about 4 oz. tomato sauce and white wine like other reviewers suggested. This was amazing and easy. My husband licked his plate clean. I would love to make a huge pot of this for parties. I would love more authentic recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Jrusk
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious! I used chicken thighs, added a can of rotel and used beer instead of wine. Next time I'll try it with the wine. Can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Even my two teenaged boys liked this! The flavor and texture of the sauce were totally new to us. It was fun to make something different that wasn't loaded with the usual high amounts of fat and calories. I did add 4 oz of tomato sauce as other reviewers suggested. Thanks Love2Cook for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This turned out great! I used skinless chicken thighs instead of drumsticks and browned them before putting them in the slow cooker. I doubled the amount of adobo seasoning and sazon as some had suggested and did not use any additional salt. It seemed like it would be a little watery so near the end of cooking I added a small can of tomato paste. The chicken was so tender it was falling off the bone. The potatoes were delicious (I'll put a couple more in next time). My husband really liked this - although if he'd seen what went into the sauce he would probably have refused to try it! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was delicious! I couldn't find sazon or adobo seasoning in my store, but I had a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I used the sauce in that & omitted the sazon. Can't wait to see what it will taste like after I order the actual spices. I also added tomato sauce, like previous reviewers suggested. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Being a true Boriqua (from Puerto Rico) I can truly attest that this is the real thing. I've been cooking from Cocina Criolla (the authentic PR cookbook) & there were no hints on how to adapt this recipe to a slow cooker. So I was thankful when I found this. With the following adjustments my home smelled like it did when growing up and it tasted exactly how I remembered! The few adjustments I made: 1) I cooked a whole chicken cut up into pieces that was about 4 pounds (basically straight from the store) so I increased the amount of adobo I used 2) I used one entire can of beer instead of the wine (any kind will do, I used Miller light this time) 3) I used the authentic frozen Goya sofrito instead of making the puree mix (again purchased from the store - DON'T buy the glass jar because it's not the real thing). I used about as much sofrito as I would have had if I made the puree. 3) I added one entire can of tomato sauce 4) I happened to have canned diced and sliced potatoes, so I used that instead of cutting up the ones I had just purchased (I forgot I had them)....and I think that's it. The adobo and sofrito are key to PR cooking & unless you have this, it won't be authentic. My family practically inhaled the meal because it was SO good. Thanks to whomever originally posted this. Now that I know I can make it in my slow cooker, it will be a frequently made dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I thought this recipe was really good. Perfect for the crock pot. I made this as is except I used 4 big thighs that was about 2 pounds and I thought it still turned out perfect. I didn't have to adjust the seasons infact I thought there would be too much salt but it came out perfect. The red potatoes are a must for this dish because they hold up where regular baking potatoes would dissolve or turn to mush. Perfect amount of broth. You can always save what's left over, strain it, and make a gravy to put over pork, roasted chicken fried chicken....meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This reminds me of my dad, who was from Puerto Rico. He made the most delicious chicken fricassee. It wasn't exactly the same as I remember, but I think what's missing may just be the love :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States