Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
It was was way too much a potato fest without additional chicken; so I added 4 thighs. Otherwise, I made it exactly as written. By the time this dish was finished cooking though, it was way overcooked. The potatoes were mushy and falling apart and the chicken wasn't very tasty (or appealing) either. If I were to ever make it again, I'd do it on the stovetop, rather than rely on the prescribed time in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I loved this and will be making it again. I did add fresh baby carrots and I used white wine instead of red, and I didn't have any red potatoes, so I used 1 can of diced potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYNC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe, JUST WAY TO SALTY FOR MY FAMILY. Very good sauce, now that I know I will cut the salt as much as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Very bland recipe. Followed recipe exactly with my only exception being not using a red pepper (used just the green one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie McComb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
YUM! This was awesome. Used 2 bags of Morningstar Veggie Chicken strips in place of the chicken and it turned out marvelous!!! Paired it with rice and Habichuelas Guisadas. Shared some with one my students and she demanded the recipe instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Recipe was OK. There was a lot of liquid after the cooking was done, but altogether, was somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
The chicken was awesome. Make sure and keep the slow cooker on low, I didn't and it fell apart too much. I also added a bit more liquid to the blender because the sauce was very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Lacked flavor. Definitely needs some salt. Also, I like slow-cooker recipes I can throw together before work and then go. This one requires quite a bit of preparation. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was very tasty, but to me, too greasy. I would like to try it again but with boneless/skinless breasts. I think I'm just not used to cooking with dark meat with skin. The flavor was fantastic, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Mine came out pretty good. I didn't have the wine and I really would like to have tried it with the wine. It was a different flavor than I am used to but I am used to more traditional American foods. However, I really enjoyed this dish and would make it again, but my boyfriend (who is kind of picky) tried it and said that "it really wasn't his thing"...so that must mean it didn't taste "bad" but just "different" than what I usually make for dinner. I would use this particular recipe if I were to make it again. I made no changes besides that of the red wine, and I used chicken breasts. Also, I used some of the leftover sauce as a base for a black bean soup, and that was really delicious! (I added black beans, yellow corn, chopped bell peppers, chopped tomatoes, and a little bit of vegetable broth until the soup was the consistency I wanted)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States