Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was excellent!! I did add a little tomato sauce like some of the others. My Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
good recipe. will make again. i agree with others that some flavor was lacking.maybe i will add a few chicken buillion cubes next time.started with 8 pc cut up chicken and ended up adding another pack of drummies for all of the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
So absolutely delicious! I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and upped the recipe due to the amount of chicken I had. Wow! The only thing I will do differently next time is to cook for less time- boneless chicken will cook faster thank bone in. I think 4 hours on low would have been plenty! The sauce was so delicious that rice on the side was a necessity to soak up all the garlicy flavorful goodness. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Fricassee is a french word, and this is nothing like the Fricassee that the French Acadians in se Louisiana make. But, it sounds wonderful! So what's in a name? It's all good!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galliano, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was delicious! Not a recipe I would have originally picked, but my girlfriend made it for a work potluck and then I made it at home. I used a combination of thighs and breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
O My Goodness!!! There are not enough stars here to rate this recipe. It is amazing!! I used a 2 and a half pound bag of drumsticks skin removed. Two packets of sazon and two tablespoons of adobo. I used a 12 oz can of tomato sauce and a whole bottle of miller lite for this recipe. I did not use a crock pot and made it on my stove top instead. I first made the sofrito (blended veggies) then i seasoned the chicken with sazon and adobo and browned them in olive oil. I added all the sofrito, tomato sauce, and bay leaves and simmered on low for 45 minutes. It was perfect and the flavor was phenomenal. Will definately be making this over and over at my house .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This meal was so easy and so good. I,a Polish-Italian descent , had a hard time believing that I cooked it. My husband, a true Puerto Rican, wanted to know if his mom was over and cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie
Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was great!! Just like my grandmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Chicken thighs are our favorite so that is what I subbed, bone in, for drumsticks. I know that boneless is less work to eat, but, oh my, the meat that has been cooked right next to the bone is the very best. I doubled the amount of chicken so I doubled the sauce ingredients, cutting back a bit on the cilantro, and that probably was not necessary as there was plenty of sauce. Not having cooked with sazon seasoning before I did not realize that MSG is one of the main ingredients. I am going to look for a substitute the next time I make this. I do not like really salty foods so I did not add the ½ tsp. of salt and I used white wine because that is what I had open. When I tasted the sauce toward the end of cooking I thought I was going to end up dumping the whole pot, as it tasted very bitter and unpleasant to me. I guess the recipe submitter knew best because I added some Himalayan sea salt and it balanced the flavors perfectly. We ended up loving it the night I made it and loving it even more the next day. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was the greatest slow cooker meal I ever had. So flavorful and tasted great! Only difference was that I made my own Adobo (googled recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States